measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How to get rid of clutter without a flamethrower

Although I have to agree with [hooligan] that a flamethrower is most effective in cleaning out trash paper, it's probably not the best way to go about it. Because, of course, the pieces of paper that are burned are the ones that will be sought after by various employees within five minutes of them turning to ash.

Granted, one of the problems with being an administrative assistant is the hording of paper. I think it's physically impossible to go without hording paper when you're an admin. assistant. But it gets frustrating when it leaves no desk space to work on. And that's where I am now.

Today is desk-cleaning day. Paper must get off my desk. I need space to work, and need organization so I can see what the hell I need to get done. Right now, it's anyone's clue. For the latter half of the afternoon, I plan on putting a piece of tape across my doorway, and begin plugging. Hopefully I can leave by 5. If not, I'll work the extra hour and let the traffic clear.

And then I'll go home to do the same thing at home-- trying to attempt to get things under control. [erich] took care of a lot of stuff last night while I was feeling a bit under the weather. But I feel better today, so I'll work to get stuff done tonight. Mostly just picking up, but we're down to the last few boxes of stuff from storage, and I'd like to get that wrapped up by the weekend if I can.

[nanowrimo] is actually motivating me to get off my butt a bit and get stuff done. I'm still working at a pretty casual pace, but it's not sitting there for weeks on end as it would have in the old apartment. I think part of the reason is I'm sharing space again with someone. But I'm trying to do a bit better, too. I really let the old place go to hell. Our new apartment is looking pretty good. We're getting the bookcases full and the kitchen stuff is almost entirely put away now (a few things on the counter, but it's stuff that needs to be washed before putting it away). The only thing we haven't begun doing at all is put pictures up on the walls. But that's really the last stuff to be done. For now, we need to get through the boxes and other objects. Then we'll know what we have for wall space that needs decorating.

Erich and I have been joking to each other about how domesticated we're getting. It's scary.

Now if I could just get domesticated enough to get organized...

9:36 a.m. - 29 October 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda