measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sinful torture

I'm on one of those rolls at work today-- it's the official October Administrative Assistant Sweep day. The day I get all of those stupid little projects done-- phone extension lists, supply lists, the emergency phone tree for the upcoming snowy months, ordering calendars for 2003, etc. All of those stupid little projects that I forget to get around to, or simply don't have the time to get around to. I can tell it's going to be a good day today. It's quiet in the office, and everyone seems to be decompressing after a bit of a hellish week. So I'm taking advantage of the time to get these things caught up.

I think part of it is mental need-to-leave-desk-relatively-clean. Whenever I leave town-- even if it's for a regular weekend, I have a drive to get as much done the day before as possible, so I can come back to a somewhat stress-free desk when I return to work.

It's moronic-- I'm only going to be out of the office for the same days as everyone else this weekend. Yet I want to get things done. I've slacked off a bit this week, and I'm driving myself nuts over the apathy I've shown at work. It's been one of those weeks where I've mostly just been a body at a desk.

*shrug*

In the meantime, I was awarded a sinful treat in my company mailbox today. I'm convinced it showed up today simply because I wanted to get things done. It's haunting me.

The Hershey's Business Gifts Catalog.

75 pages of sinful chocolate gifts for the holidays. Tins, bars, molded chocolate treats, and even three-pound slabs of chocolate advertised as "cards."

I'm getting sugar shakes just flipping through the thing. You can too at hershey's gifts (dot) com.

Now, I know better than to order a 3- pound bar of chocolate from here for about $30. Especially when I know I can go to Trader Joe's, a fantastic market that sells all sorts of funky foods and wines (import and domestic) that's conveniently about a mile from work, and buy a TEN pound slab of Ghirardelli for about the same price. Or simply ask my mom where she buys hers for making her homemade truffles and Chocolate Seduction (a three-inch deep chocolate mousse cake with crumbled chocolate wafer crust, topped with white chocolate whipped cream and shaved semi-sweet chocolate on top. It is the Gods' answer to all of life's problems).

But oh, that catalog is boring into my soul-- even as it sits, waiting patiently, four feet behind me on the other side of my cubicle...

*drools*

10:38 a.m. - 4 October 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda