measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mail call

Now that I'm moved, I need to remember that it's not only me using the mailbox downstairs, so it's going to fill up faster. I'd forgotten to check the box since Friday, and hadn't given [erich] his key to the mailbox-- so it was completely my fault. (he now has a key, so I can be sort-of left off the hook for checking the mail at times. *grin*)

In the box was one of those infamous peach slips informing me that I would be discovering the Randolph Post Office in the near future. "Box full-- mail at post office" it said.

So this morning I putzed around the apartment a bit later than normal because I had to go by the post office, but it didn't open until 8:30 (when I'm supposed to be at work). Chatted with one of my old penpals, Crystal, who lives in Hawaii-- we joked (as we used to do often) about how I was always just waking up when I chatted on AIM with her, and she was just about to go to bed. Gotta love the six-hour time difference between Massachusetts and Hawaii, eh? Talked briefly with Tan, where we grumbled about work a bit. And then I was off to face the day and find this post office.

It wasn't too hard to find. Fortunately, there's a sign off the main road pointing to it. I arrived about 10 minutes before the service windows opened, so I grabbed a copy of the Boston Globe and skimmed the headlines-- a daily habit I've picked up ever since it was required in my JO 201 class (basic journalism writing) in college. I'll read the paper later, over lunch.

Picked up the mail-- a fair amount of stuff. My new address labels for home, the first bill of my Apple Loan (*sob*), new telephone calling card, a few various things for Erich (no checks hon, sorry), TV Guides that had been forwarded from my old apartment, and a VERY funky envelope in a rather mystical/Dungeons & Dragons theme.

From Colorado.

Addressed to the new apartment (one of the few things, I might add, which didn't have the ugly yellow forwarding sticker).

Which limits it down to two people, both of whom happen to live together.

My comments on it are:

1) Muchos thanks to [hooligan] and [thefinn] for the card, under any circumstances

2) In the words and intonation of Will Smith in ID4, "I have GOT to find me some of THESE!!!" Where on earth did you find these nifty cards?

3) I think it IS safe to say that I have finally tamed The Beast. :) And yes, that made me crack up in the car this morning. The guy getting into his car next to me must have thought I was nuts.

Thanks for the laugh this morning, guys... I needed it. Of course, it's very possible the new place might become Son of Beast at some point. But from experience, homes don't start to show their animalistic tendencies until a few months after you move in. *grin*

[bar]

Patti, it was nice to chat briefly with you last night. Hopefully we can again soon. For everyone else who doesn't know, while my WitchMeasi AIM still works, I tend to be on my other account, Measi2, more often.

And my guestbook seems to be cranky today for some reason. Grrrr......

Anyway... more later. Off to work.

9:18 a.m. - 19 September 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda