measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday's break

It's raning this morning-- a cool, refreshing rain to scrub away part of the humidity and heat that's been griming up the city over the last tenday. Although it was still on the warm side when I walked up to the T, it was refreshing to finally have weather that wasn't in the 80's at 8 a.m.

The windows are wide open, and the fan's running on high. It's only supposed to reach 75 today. Might as well get some fresh air in there! Particularly since tonight I'm going to have to do some serious work since I took last night off due to the heat. The rest of the laundry, the fridge, and the bathroom will be done by the end of the night. If I can manage it, my CD's, tapes, and videos will be carted up, too.

Oh yes, it will get done.

[erich] began his new job yesterday. He had that new job high spirits attitude yesterday evening when he called me. It sounds like he's in such a better situation than he was over at John Hancock. I'm very happy for him. And his commute isn't too bad-- he can take the train, rather than deal with traffic. He's working a slightly earlier schedule than I can probably manage, so he might still have to pay parking at the train lot, (as opposed to me dropping him off/picking him up) but we'll see. Purely depends o how things go with his commute schedule vs. mine. I wouldn't mind working an earlier shift here, and since I have relatively flexible hours, I could do it if the traffic on Route 128 north is forgiving enough. (I don't count on it, though)

He's trying to send emails out from his work address this morning, but my replies aren't getting through to him. It's funny. It's only been a week since he, Tan, JT, and I were having our daily banter sessions via email. They've been quiet this week since he's been off a work email address. I hope we can get him back on them.

I talked with Dad last night about car issues, and how I'm leaning strongly toward a Toyota Corolla-- and thinking new (which he was a bit wiggy about, but for only $2,000 more than a used car, with at least 30,000 miles less on it, the considerations are there to buy new). He also caught me up on issues happening at home-- apparently a windstorm last week reached 70 miles per hour, and knocked half of the fence down. Thankfully the two sections that fell were the ones that divided our yard from the neighbors (who also have fences), rather than the street side of the fence. That would be a big problem since we have lots of little kids in the neighborhood, and a pool which isn't immediately visible from the street because it's down a hill. Dad says it's about 80 feet worth of fence that's busted, but fortunately only the stud poles broke-- the actual fencing planks are just fine. So he's trying to find a fencer who will come in to replace the stud poles and just recycle the planks onto the fence.

To be fair, those stud poles lasted for 19 years. Not too bad, considering. They've sustained that many Montana winters. *shrug* Dad can't complain too much, I guess.

It's one of those situations where I'm glad I'm not home, because somehow I get the feeling that I'd be helping my father redo the fence myself if I were. With no kids around, Dad has to hire someone.

Yardwork. *shudder* I don't mind mowing the grass or doing the pool cleaning, but otherwise, *shudder*

Ah well... I'd better get to work... lots of stuff to do here today....

--Mel.

9:58 a.m. - 20 August 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda