measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Talking with Mom

Ironic that this came only about a half-hour after I posted my answers to the Friday Fives (see the link at the bottom of the page).

I just sent this email to Erich and Tan...

My mom just called.

Starts off by saying "So... are you still mad at me?"

(to which I reply, yes, a bit)

And she says that she doesn't understand it, but it wasn't her intention to make me feel like I was in the middle between her and my dad, and that she knows I love both of them, and she was sorry if I felt that way.

I told her thank you, that those words were all I needed to hear.

(which is the truth-- all I needed was the simple apology)

So it looks like that's paved over.

(I didn't, and won't, say anything about her divorce-issue problems unless crap comes up again)

--Mel.

It seriously was all I needed to hear. Just an apology. An acknowledgement that something that she'd done had hurt me, and that she recognized my right to feel upset. The "this isn't intentional" helped, too.

No grudges held. Just a simple ending to it without the pissing.

And then we discussed cars a bit, and asked me if I'd put some thought into it. I said yes, and that Erich and I were going tomorrow morning to do some test-driving. She asked about the costs, and I told her what ranges I'd been finding for the various cars I was considering. I also told her how I'd noticed that there was a significant difference between a manual shift and automatic shift ($1,000 or more in many cases) on price, and that I would prefer a manual if I could get one. Not only because of the cost, but because I feel more comfortable driving a manual. It just keeps my mind more alert since I have to listen to the car.

I also alerted her to the pain-in-the-ass regulations Massachusetts has for registering cars. She wondered what the difference would be if she bought the car in her name, and then changed the title to me (as if buying a gift, for example). I told her I didn't know, but would look into it.

She said that if we weren't able to get something together by the time I move, that I can borrow her Jeep until we get something arranged, which is cool.

One way or the other, I'll probably head that way the week after Labor Day, since I don't think with everything else going on, that I'll have my own car by then. Just too many other things stressing me out, and if I can borrow her car until I get my own arranged, it's one less thing to deal with.

So at that's least one less stress to worry about now. Hopefully the issue with our moving on the 1st will be resolved soon, too.

--Mel.

12:09 p.m. - 9 August 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda