measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Lich Kitten

It still feels like yesterday~

Erich and I heading up on the subway to Harvard Square on August 9th, 2001, to meet up with a couple of Pagans I knew from one of the local mailing lists because they had a little kitten that needed a home.

A male black kitten.

We had a lot of misconnections, but finally found them in the main room of the Harvard Square T-stop, leaning against the support post near the Dunkin' Donuts stall. A tiny little black furball was curled up in the space between her neck and her breasts, just clinging there, not moving.

I fell in love immediately, and as they handed the kitten to me, I saw its mottled gold-blue eyes that were entirely too big for the rest of the cat. It curled into the same position ON me, I immediately felt a mothering bond. The entire way home, I wanted to take the kitten out of Colley's carrier, and just let it rest on me, curled up. Because it was an amazingly powerful connection in such a simple act.

This was my little furbaby. And almost immediately, I thought of [thefinn]'s description of a Lich Kitten. Because immediately, I felt my heart being pulled by this little cat.

I resisted taking it out of the carrier, though. Because the kitten might freak out with the people around it, and run off if the door was open on the subway car.

I named him Mephisto... Fizzy for short.

And Fizzy, as my dear journal readers know, has been a bundle of surprises since I brought the furball home.

My Pagan aquaintences had thought Fizzy was about eight weeks old, but through my own observation and a visit to the vet, Fizz was probably a bit over half that. Only about four to five weeks-- not quite walking upright yet, and still steering with the tail.

And Fizzy was trying to nurse (out of need for comfort and improper weaning?) on Colley-- my neutered MALE Norwegian Forest Cat.

Who, I might add, seemed to enjoy sprawling out on his back and letting this tiny kitten suckle on him with the ears back, paws kneading on him, and purring up a storm.

It was mildly disturbing. I might add that this behavior still happens from time to time a year later.

In January, I took Fizzy in for neutering. And the BIG surprise came back.

Fizzy was a girl.

My baby boy was actually a little girl.

And the pronoun problem was extremely difficult to get over.

But "Miss Fizz," as she's come to be known with her fiesty attitude, seemed pretty non-plussed about this.

As did Colley, who seemed to have a look of "Well, aren't YOU the stupid human, Mom!"

Despite her definite preference toward [erich] as her primary human, I can't imagine not having the little Fizzball now. She's such a riot, and keeps Colley on his toes. If anything, he's also become a different cat-- much more relaxed, but at the same time, much more playful.

Amazing that it's been a year. :)

11:28 a.m. - 9 August 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda