measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Flurry of activity

Man, it's been a busy weekend. And I don't feel like I accomplished much, even though I did a LOT.

When did Tuesday get here?

I spent the better part of Sunday reworking my Reiki teaching manuals. The ones I'd received from my Reiki Master were photocopies of photocopies. I have this impending need to NOT make more copies of this as-is, and retyped the whole thing, reworking a few pages and reformatting them to look nice. Redoing them actually was a wonderful exercise in Reiki contemplation-- reading through the manuals again and again, and considering all of the information given-- where I felt it lacked detail, where I felt detail could be removed. Lots of soul-searching happens when you rewrite and revise what you've been taught, I'm finding. I don't regret doing so. In fact, I think it's made my appreciation of Reiki that much stronger.

I did all of my reworkings in early to mid June. I saved it, and left the copies sitting on my computer desktop as Word files for when it was time to send out my first two copies.

When I opened them on Sunday to do a last-check, I winced. I'd saved it highlighted (font change, I assume), and of course, as often happens, I'd pressed C. So that's all I had. A friggin capital C in Times Roman.

Fifty pages down the drain. Oh I wanted to cry.

I'd started working on them at work, and had emailed them home in the evenings so I could work on them, so fortunately I still had originals attached to emails. But they were by no means complete. I basically wrote 30 of 50 pages on Reiki on Sunday, including formatting pictures and such. Lots of work.

And unlike my thesis, this 30 pages was single spaced. Therefore I believe I've set a new writing record. Bleh.

Last night I did a final hand-check of each page for typos and misspellings. I corrected them today and printed them off.

They look good.

I'm pleased.

But I have a hand-cramp wicked fierce.

[bar]

Along with the horrors of rewriting those manuals, I came across something on TV last night. On American Movie Classics, they had one of the films I thought I'd NEVER see on that station...

The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

What's next? Xanadu? (that's a place that nobody dares to go).

No, I didn't start that play on words. Blame Tan. And if you get it, give yourself a round of applause.

Despite the fact that it was midnight, I couldn't resist watching a bit of Rocky. I even did some audience participation mutterings. It's just too difficult to turn away, particularly when you know some of the um... comments. :) But honestly, Tim Curry is just mesmerizing in that movie. Yes, the script is bad. Yes, it's campy. But he pulls off Frank-N-Furter so well. He made that role. I don't think anyone could match him. Although if the rumours I hear are true, Anthony Stewart Head could give him a good run for his money.

I still need to get [erich] to the show. It's an experience he needs to have. If it works to get him there, I won't even point him out as a virgin, although I know Tan would if she attended with us.

[bar]

I really should get some work done today, shouldn't I?

hmm....

3:46 p.m. - 16 July 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda