measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Portable 'puting

Crazy 36 hours. I haven't been able to update Interviewed since Sunday. *sigh* That will be fixed as soon as I get this entry done.

I made a great new leap into the world of computing yesterday with a shiny new white iBook. Of course, everyone asks what flavor it is, since it's an iBook... as far as I know, they've stopped flavoring the Macs... but it would be either Ice or Snow, I guess. I stil haven't decided what to name it (naming hard drives is just one of those things I do). I could be a smartass and name it Braeburn or Fuji, I guess... *evil grin*

I've been wanting to get a laptop for a while, and what better way to celebrate getting out of debt than by getting back in with a loan from Apple? It's a very purdy 'puter, too. Completely white-- case, keys, internal panels. Weighs 5 pounds. 40 Gig hard drive, 384 RAM, DVD/CD-R drive. Oh yes... quite spiffy. More than a casual computer geek like me really needs at this point, but I'm sure I can stuff it full fairly quickly. Just lead me to the X-Files fanfic archives. :) Or better yet, Sims download sites.

Needless to say, I've been tinkering on it quite a bit since it arrived in my cubicle yesterday morning. :) I loaded Tropico and The Sims (all four to date for the Mac) onto it, and threw Microsoft Office on, since I know I'll be using this for work. It runs beautifully, which makes me more convinced that my G3 was probably the culprit for OS X problems. Hopefully next Friday, depending on what's going on, I can offload all of the documents and such from my G3 (which has a total of six gigs, as opposed to the iBook at 40), wipe the drive, and reformat it. For now, at least, my G3 is a more reliable internet computer, since it's stationary and doesn't require cord disconnections like the iBook would for porting it around.

Of course, goofing around on it kept me up late. I think I finally got to bed around 1 a.m., and when I woke up at 7, I had a splitting headache and my intenstines were in an uproar. *sigh* I hate having a sensitive digestive system. I really do. I got ready for work despite feeling icky, and then couldn't find my keys on the way out of the house.

Well, screw it. That was my sign to stay at home.

Twist my arm, why don't you Fate. Thank you. I'll stay here today.

I found my keys about an hour later.

So I've been home. Slept for a while, got all of the LMAO's that I have to finish together. Went to the coffee shop for a bit, worked on those. Came home. Now I'm here.

It's one of those kinds of days.

Mental health day, I think.

It's been one of those days.

4:00 p.m. - 10 July 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda