measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Smokey Sunday

It's been many years since I've seen a bright red sun.

If I recall correctly, it's been just shy of 14 years, in fact. And even though this is a second time occurrance for me, it's both freaking me out and fascinating me.

I woke this morning to see a yellow-tinged sky. I knew almost immediately what it was, since I'd seen the National Weather Service alert yesterday for New York State and western Mass... it's smoke. From a forest fire nearly 500 miles north of Montr�al in Qu�bec.

The yellow tinge to everything has remained all day, and has been mixing with more and more humidity as the day has gone on. Sunbeams hitting the floor of my apartment haven't been white, or even a yellow-beige color. They've been orange. BRIGHT orange. Like sunset-color orange, but at noontime.

Now the sun is red, and although it's still at least a 20 degree angle above the horizon, the sun is nearly blotted out by the smoke to the northwest. Only a faint red dot still is visible. The entire sky is grey-- not with clouds, but with smoke.

It's such a strange sensation.

I have to wonder-- before the conveniences of modern technology, what would someone think when they saw a blood-red sun in the sky? Particularly when there was no fire anywhere near to be found?

I'd have probably been scared shitless.

As JT just said to me a few minutes ago on AIM, it looks like a nuclear winter out there-- as if we're on another planet.

7:13 p.m. - 7 July 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda