measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A big sigh of relief

I got a call this evening-- a familiar voice on the line speaking only two words in greeting...

Hey Kent!

I feel like a huge weight has been lifted from my shoulders. I feel like crying. But tears of happiness, of surprise, and of reconnection. For the first time since February of 2001, I've finally spoken to Andi... live. On the phone.

Andi's okay.

Those two words just relieve me. I was afraid I wouldn't be able to say them. It's been so long, and the connection has been so silent. I was worried that something bad had happened to her. Ironically, she feared that since she hadn't heard from me, something bad had happened to me on September 11th. She hadn't talked to me, and then she was afraid to call... afraid she was going to get horrible news.

Funny-- wasn't I afraid of the same thing in calling her-- afraid that the wedding had been called off?

It turns out that Andi's had an extremely busy year. She found out last autumn that she was pregnant, and rather than wait until she was nearly 20 weeks pregnant (and I'd imagine to silence her extremely Catholic parents), she and her fianc�, Sean (Shawn?), decided to move the date up to late November. Hence her phone call to me at the beginning of November, inviting me to the wedding. *sigh*

And then this past week, on the 12th, her baby girl, Alayna, was born. Eight pounds, 11 ounces, by cesarean. She's fine. The baby's fine, although was at least two weeks overdue, and had nearly no amniotic fluid left in her uterus. She was lucky to be induced when she was.

They've had a wild year.

I'm a bit saddened that I missed her wedding. We'd talked about being at each others' weddings since we were little girls. But I told her on the phone tonight that while I'm glad she called me to let me know, I wouldn't have been able to go in November. I was so strapped for cash-- I was on a strict budget just to get presents last year, and only managed to buy them for four different people.

So while I'm saddened, at the same time, there's no way to be angry with her. Andi's my sister. And missing a wedding day does not destroy the bond of love the two of us have. Instead, I can rejoice that my adopted sister is now a mother and a wife. And in a way, I'm now an aunt.

Auntie Mel.

I'm just relieved that I heard from her. I can decompress from one of my big lingering fears now.

Pardon me while I just go release a bit of emotion that's been bottling up...

Andi's okay

9:12 p.m. - 16 June 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda