measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

always working for the weekend

Weeks with impending holidays suck. Big time. I feel burned out. I notice that just like when I was in school, the week before a holiday is just crammed full of every little project imaginable. Because apparently we're never coming BACK to work after Memorial Day. Life and our company will end forever this Friday, it seems.

I'm ready for the weekend. And I still have two more days to go.

Ugh.

Linda and I have been given the impossible task of doing the budgets for our department for the next three years. Ones which I assume we'll be held to. It's unreasonable, and quite frankly, the timing just sucks big time. So that has taken up a lot of my workweek. This morning I'm trying to clean through some paperwork that's beginning to fester again. It didn't take long after Saturday's morning in the office to get back to its normal state of disarray. Sometimes I just look at it, and realize the futility of it all. I wonder about the futility of corporate America in general-- what exactly are we killing ourselves for? I keep forgetting.

What's making this week difficult to endure is the knowledge that I have a fun weekend ahead, and then another fun weekend NEXT weekend. The days in the office are just dragging. The instant gratification kid in me needs to have the weekend NOW. Right now. We can skip Thursday, right?

This weekend's adventure will be another LAN party. It seems that there will be more people at this one. Should be fun. Despite the fact that I will stand out in more ways than one at this thing, I'll have a good time. I'm bringing my Mac with me. There are some games that either didn't have enough player spots, or whatnot, and I found myself last time being a bit frustrated from time to time. Partially because I wasn't on my own computer, and the loss of familiarity and comfort wasn't there. It's funny how being on someone else's computer just makes things less comfortable.

So I'm bringing my Mac. So what if it's the only one there. :) It'll add... color. Yeah. That's right. The girl geek will be more independent by bringing the nifty blue and white G3 tower. Just to be different. Because I can.

And during those games that I can't get into, either because I have a Mac or because of player slot/LAN ability problems, I'll kick up The Sims and create Sims of everyone at the game... just 'cause. And get the voodoo doll and prick them or something. I don't know.

I suspect that I'll be considered a freak of nature after this weekend; if I wasn't already, that is.

The following weekend will be a special one. Ah, anniversaries. :) The time flies when love is in the air. [erich] and I celebrate our first anniversary of dating on May 31st. I seriously can't believe it's only been a year. I feel like I've known him forever.

About three weeks ago, he emailed me asking what my schedule was for the weekend of the 31st, and rather than go along with everything (which I probably should have done... and will do next time), I started prying to see what was going on. Turns out that this is what he had planned. I seriously can't wait. I've never been at a Bed & Breakfast before. I can't imagine going there with anyone else.

*does a very [ade]-like swoon*

I just want the weekends to get here. Screw work. :)

10:54 a.m. - 22 May 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda