measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Childish antics

I found a way to send a card to my grandmother without lying too much through my teeth for feeling sympathy for her. The card went into the mail yesterday. *shrug* I've chalked it up to one of those things that needs to be done so I don't cause further problems within the family. I'm just not in the mood to deal with the b.s. The card cost me $2.50, plus the 34 cents for postage. Small price to pay for no aggrivation. In the card, I basically gave my condolences, and apologized for not being in touch with her, but that the past few years of my life have been ones where I've needed to retreat into my own space to find out who I am. She can take it however she wants. I really don't care. But the reason is the truth-- I've pulled away from most of my life from only a few years ago. For good or for bad, I needed to in order to find out who I really was. *shrug*

Now the next fun is sending a card to my brother. He shocked the hell out of me a couple weeks ago by sending my birthday/Christmas gift (yes, I realize it's May)... the third season DVD set of the X-Files. Not exactly a cheap gift for a 24-year-old college kid to be sending. So I'll be sending a thank-you card by the weekend to him.

~~~~~~~~~~~

It's beautiful outside today. I relish May in New England, and try to take full advantage of it, because June 1st is right around the corner, and with it will come the heat and humidity that makes summer torturous for Rocky Mountain bred people like me. (Humidity?!? Ahh! Ahhhhhhh!!!!!!! What is this stuff?!? AHHHHHHHH!!!! *cranks A/C*)

I have no inhibitions about acting like a little kid during the springtime. I'll throw a couple cartwheels in the grass. It looks rather um... scary... when a plus-sized woman does cartwheels. But dammit, there's a goofy little adrenaline rush I feel while acting entirely young for my age. I can do cartwheels, and do them rather well. With pointed toes, even. I miss the days when I could do back walkovers. Sadly, those days ended with the freshman thirty about ten years ago.

Now, before [erich] starts giving me a look, both for the concept of the 27-year-old doing flips in the backyard, and for the fact that I should know better than to do gymnastics with my god-awful right ankle... I'm not going to be doing them this year. I'm still coughing a bit from my wonderful bout of a cold a couple weeks ago, so no cartwheels this spring. I'm itching to go flip around and be goofy, but I also know that if I do, I'll probably aggrivate this cough, and I really don't want to be dealing with it come Fourth of July. *sigh*

So I've resorted to the much less physically active childhood sport of daydreaming. I have a great vantage point from my cubicle to the windows in one of the offices. And fortunately, the normal resident of said office is out on vacation, so my gazing out the window won't appear to be a staring at him. Just dreaming.

I feel like school should be ending soon. Part of me has this mentality that I'm getting a summer vacation. On Sunday, the city was teaming with different graducation ceremonies for Boston University. All the poor graduates dealing with those god-awful bright red (I mean red) gowns and black boards. I can't believe it's been five years since I graduated. Half a decade.

Where has this time gone?

I want to be a kid again.

Dammit, I need a summer vacation.

11:48 a.m. - 21 May 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda