measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*sniffle* *sniffle* *gah!*

The aforementioned allergy attack is in reality a full-blown cold. *sigh* I did so well this winter... thought I was home-free with the illness thing. I was praising the flu shot, which seems to have kept me illness-free for the past several months. And then whammo! Tuesday night happens, and this thing just hit me like bricks.

I didn't sleep well Tuesday night-- was tossing and turning most of the night. I think I finally got about two hours all-told. But I was painfully warm in my room, and in retrospect, I probably had a slight fever. I usually get them at the beginning of colds. It was just odd that my typical sore throat didn't warn me of the impending cold, either.

Yesterday I went home after work, had a salad for dinner, and then crawled into bed by aroudn 7:30. Slept for about three hours, was up for about an hour, and then took small naps all night until 8 a.m. this morning. The only reason I didn't sleep through the night was because the congestion in my nose kept waking me up. I was on a drug cocktail that my father would rip me apart for-- a double-dose of two different meds. Neither was a night-time formula, so I purposely knocked myself out with a double antihistamine dosage. Dammit... I wanted to SLEEP. It's the best thing for a cold. Just rest and let it run its course. And the less time I'm up and having to move, the better.

I think the cats knew something was wrong. Both of them were on the bed *all* night with me. Fizzy curled up on top of my pj pants that were thrown over the corner of the bed-- she seems to prefer to sleep on clothing (preferably worn, which I assume is since it has my scent on them). Colley attached himself to my hip for the majority of the night. Neither romped around.

Cats are funny that way. They just seem to know, and sit there to comfort. It's amazing how animals have that quality. My cats growing up seemed to know something was wrong when I had surgery at 17. I woke up with two large male cats on either side of me in a twin-sized bed. One of the cats, Kashan, normally couldn't give me the time of day, and yet there he was.

Anyway... before I start going on a cold-med induced rant that will scare the crap out of people, I'll stop.

See you guys again once I'm feeling better....

Hugs,
Mel.

10:35 a.m. - 9 May 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda