measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

April Showers...

... bring funky allergic reactions. I'm sniffly, Erich's sniffly. Icky stuff. Can I have a new nose, please?

To be fair, my allergies are quite light compared to some people. LGM has nasty ones (which he of course takes nothing for, so he suffers... loudly). I get allergy attacks, but for the most part during the day, I'm okay. Waking up is hellish, but that's really the only time during the day that I'm really suffering.

Allergies are such an odd thing. I mean, really-- people being unable to handle being around something in their environments. I can understand a first-contact knee-jerk reaction-- the body reacts to something it doesn't normally come in contact with, but you'd think that over time, tolerance would build.

It's the people with peanut, wheat, milk, etc. allergies that I get really confused about. My cousin Marya is one of those Allergic-To-Everything kids. Peanuts worst of all. Which means that she can't have most candy because all of the packages state "processed in a plant that may be in contact with peanuts." It seems this peanut allergy is a huge thing all of a sudden. I don't recall a single kid growing up that had any peanut allergy. Now it seems that half of the kids out there have it. And nasty ones-- anaphalatic shock-style ones where kids can die within a half hour if they don't get to the hospital.

Where the heck does this stuff come from?

There was a girl in college allergic to wheat. How more frustrating can you get than a wheat allergy? I mean, how the heck do you avoid wheat?

I guess it's just one of those weird things about the human body... but it seems that the more "civilized" and "germ free" we get as a society, the more allergic to our environment we become.

If and when I have kids, they're making mudpies. Screw this constant anti-bacterial crap.

10:10 a.m. - 4 April 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda