measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A day off... and some work is done

Long weekends rock. They really do.

I personally think there should be a mandatory one in the United States workplace once per month so people can get their bearings, get stuff done, and just have three days to relax.

On this fine President's Day, the sun was shining, the roads were thankfully clear, and I had a mission to get stuff done. Because I didn't want to waste an extra day off to get The Beast partially tamed. Oh yes... it will be done.

[thefinn], stop looking at me like that!

Actually, although the place still looks pretty messy, I did get a decent amount done this afternoon, and probably could get more done if I didn't resist the urge to stuff everything that's on the floor into my dresser drawers (which are currently empty... for a reason). The problem is that I have a bunch of laundry to do, and with this place as small as it is, cleaning around laundry piles is a bit tricky. So I did some trash paper collecting, and got all of the letters and penpalling stuff that would fit in a basket into said basket. I'm going to start sorting those tonight into different piles so I can start getting through them.

It's a slow process, but I actually see some light in this tunnel. Thanks to the storage space, which currently has two big tubs of stuff, a huge stuffed bear, and my brass Moroccan table, which I use as an altar. It doesn't work in this apartment at all, so I'm happy to have it safe in storage until I move. I'll be putting my X-Files and Star Trek: TNG video tapes into storage hopefully next weekend, and that will clear a bunch of space on my shelves for books and the baskets that are holding penpal stuff... which should take stuff off my floor. :) I also now have the storage shelves in my closet clearing up, so I'll be able to get some stuff up there that I need here, but don't use quite as often. I actually could get this place straightened up pretty quickly.

As I told Erich-- the more I can store now, the less I have to move this summer. And honestly, if after not seeing it for six months, I might be able to get rid of some of it outright and save myself all of the trouble of moving it to a new apartment. Some of it I can definitely see getting rid of pretty quickly once I'm in an apartment where I can go through it bit by bit. Ebay will be my friend. But the kicker is that even stuff that I know I want to get rid of, I need to get into storage for now because this place needs to be cleaned out first. That's the priority. I can't live in here comfortably anymore.

With the stuff I've moved out, I'm just about at the point where I can start getting through stuff, have the room to do so, and get this place cleaned out. It'll take a bunch of work, but for the next few weeks I'll be able to get a bit done on Saturdays before the game. [erich] is working part-time on Saturdays for some extra money for bills and such, and so we're getting up to the game a bit late. I don't have to be on the T to Braintree until 2 or so, so that gives me time to get some stuff done here.

My Goddess... I could actually have this place in some semblance of near-order and decent cleanliness next weekend. With about a half-hour of work each night, it could happen.

What a scary concept.

6:54 p.m. - 18 February 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda