measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

performance reviews redux

Performance Reviews are due in to the main office today. I've got two nice, nifty piles divided by staff and by contract employees and each in alphabetical order, sitting on my desk ready to go. They even have spiffy coversheets with the listing of all included employees for each pile -- on company letterhead, no less.

The temptation to invade someone's privacy and read the performance reviews is RIGHT THERE. Sitting only two feet away from me on my desk with lists of objectives for 2002 and the comments on strengths, weaknesses, and met/unmet goals for 2001. Right next to me. I could go into someone's entire year, and get the dirt on how they're really doing.

Honestly, there are only a couple of people who I'd like to read on. People who pissed me off this year. But I won't. Because it's an abuse of the power and confidentiality that goes with my position as admin. I know a lot of shit that goes on in this office that others don't know, and it's my responsibility to keep it silent.

My objectives for this next year are mostly involving budget stuff for the new position. It's definitely official-- I now have it in writing. Fortunately, my objectives translate into "Learning the Job and Training Someone to Do Your Current One." On the side, I also have the deparment employee help manual to put together. No problem. I can definitely do this.

I did get a very good review this year, and honestly I think Linda boosted it up higher than I had written about myself. Perhaps it's just because I'm my own worst critic, but I don't know if I necessarily deserved as high a rating as I got for the year. Apparently there were a VERY select few out of our department of thirty-seven reviews that received an "Outstanding" rating. A very select few. Like... me. And only me.

I honestly don't think I deserve it. Personally, I feel like I've slacked off a lot this year. *shrug* But maybe it's just because admin work is now a level or two below what I should be doing to challenge myself. I don't know. I do feel like I do the job in my sleep most of the time. But I can think of a couple of people who I'd have given an "Outstanding" rating to. Then again, I'm coming from an administrative assistant perspective, and not a designer. What the hell do I know, right?

Well hell, I'll take the great rating. Anything that can help me get a better bonus for the year and help me get bills and a new apartment paid off will NOT cause me to openly complain (except in here, of course).

2:45 p.m. - 11 February 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda