measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a rare completely un-clich�d TGIF...

My Goddess what a God-awful week. Could Mercury be any more retrograde right now?

I have rarely, if ever, seen my department in such a foul mood for days and days on end. This entire week has been hell. Prototypes for books are being ripped to shreds as being "undazzling" by the higher-ups, textbooks that are only five weeks away from pre-publishing preparation are still going through revisions, and absolutely no chapters are actually complete. Tensions that were already high because of that are spilling into every book project meeting, and after every hour, I'm hearing griping as people walk back to their cubicles. Linda, my boss, has been shutting her door every half-hour to do reviews all week, and she's miserable because of them. And since she's doing reviews, all of the invoices and other work that I need her to sign off on is sitting on her desk, so I'm now a week behind on things, but ironically have NOTHING to do since I can't get that stuff back from her.

On top of that, stuff at home has been worrysome, too. Poor [erich] is going through so much crap with his parents' divorce, and last night as I picked him up from work, I saw him fighting to keep it from spilling over. Our usual Thursday "date night" was postponed because he needed to cool off, recompose, and just have some time alone. I'm not sure how to approach him on things, so for now I'm just giving him the space he requests and needs, and hopes that he doesn't bottle everything up. I worry about that since he's an only child and played the role of mediator for so long in his family. Being in such a position didn't exactly give him an outlet.

I mean, yeah, I've also been through my parents' divorce, but there's a difference between going through it at 13-14 and 27. The realities of what is going on are a bit more present to the adult than the child. And as a teenager, as long as I was doing well in school, not getting into arguments with my friends, and wasn't making a complete ass of myself in dance class, everything was just fine with me. Na�ve denial is a beautiful thing.

So the escape to Nashua for the game tomorrow will be a welcome break from this insanity. I'm ready to try this new +3 short sword on something, JT... lay it on me.

There are weeks that you're glad to have over. This definitely counts as one of them.

3:39 p.m. - 8 February 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda