measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

new gaming experiences

Yep, new template today. :) Haven't gotten rid of my celestial one, and don't plan to. I just need a bit of a change for a while. I wanted to get a Valentine's one, but everything was either too cheesy or too heartsy... not my thing.

So instead I'll do hugging tigers. :) They're cute, and they're SO very me.

~~~~

This weekend should be a blast. Tomorrow I'll enter the world of Call of Cthulhu for the first time. JT is the Keeper, and there's a good number of us interested in playing. I *think* the current count is around a dozen, but who knows if everyone will show up or not. JT's kids are not involved in this one. He's given the elder two permission to watch if they keep quiet and in the background, but there is an age cap on this sucker. Not knowing much about the Lovecraft universe, but hearing enough stories, that's probably the good idea. I mean, JT's been gaming for long enough to make judgement calls as a gamemaster (besides the fact that he's their father... all that parental guidance and all).

So by 9 p.m. tomorrow night, I'm sure I'll be cuddling on the corner of the couch, hugging a pillow as I let my mind wander through JT's descriptions of our surroundings, and then taking it just that much further. I LOVE the horror-mystery genre. Suspense thriller games that are just modern enough to make an impact because it can be related to.

Don't get me wrong. I adore D&D, and hope I never get sick of playing it. But every once in a while, it's nice to try an entirely new gaming system and be forced to create characters with an entirely different mindset. While [erich] and I were at Arisia a couple weekends ago, we played a pick-up game of Paranoia with a GM who knew what he was doing, was on the ball and quick with all responses (I mean really... he made it possible for us to wind up as programs in the MCP's games from Tron. Where else could you have to race on light-cycles?). We had a blast.

New gaming systems spark the creativity juices, and then that creativity generally finds its way back to D&D. The new gaming system forces you to take different angles at looking at your characters, and then you realize that those angles can be used in other gaming systems, with just a bit of tweaking. Makes for a fun and enjoyable game without cookie-cutter characters.

In any case, Saturday night should be a lot of fun. I've heard so much about Cthulhu. I'm psyched to finally be able to try it. And of course, I'll get spoiled with JT running the thing. I mean, if Tan's half-paranoid about having him run a game of it (as she serves as Keeper for Cthulhu as well), then I'm probably going to be scared out of my wits. Granted, I think Tan doth protest too much, however... ;) (*winks at her*)

~~~~

So then Sunday is the big day... Patriots vs. Rams. For the first time in my life, I have the experience of living in the region of one of the teams.

Contrary to what a lot of the point spreads are, I do think it's going to be a good game, and a close game. I don't think people are giving the Pats enough credit. They may lose, but I think they'll hold their own. My bet? 27-21 (or 27-24). Could go either way.

Gotta run... tons of work to do... but hey... think of me this weekend and give the Pats some extra luck, will ya? :)

12:59 p.m. - 1 February 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda