measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well, I guess that's over for a while...

... no blood donations for me for a while.

I went to donate red cells today, and my hematocrit was 32%. You need at least a 38% to donate. What this means is that of my blood count, only 32% are red blood cells.

Simple English? I'm anemic. Enough that my dad told me I'd better go get a complete blood count test done, and that it was a good thing I wasn't home in Montana, because with that level of anemia in that elevation, I'd be passing out. Since I'm at sea level, I'm just feeling fatigued.

The interesting thing is, I have felt very tired for MONTHS. I mean... if you read through my journal, you see mentions everywhere of me not being able to concentrate, of needing more coffee, etc. This was all from feeling tired. Not sleepy tired-- fatigued. Not having the energy to walk up two flights of stairs, even-- Erich watched me struggle with that yesterday at his apartment.

I assumed I just wasn't sleeping well. But my dad told me that since I was giving platelets, they might not have been as concerned with my hematocrit. I was going to be getting the red blood cells back, anyway.

So needless to say, I will be calling the doctor tomorrow. Might as well go and get this checked ASAP. Because if it's easily fixable (such as an iron deficiency), I would rather just get rid of the problem.

A now enlightened... but still fatigued...

--Mel.

11:07 p.m. - 28 January 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda