measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Football

While the rest of Patriots' Land was celebrating for one specific reason yesterday, I had two. I won't have to decide who to root for in the Superbowl.

As cool as a Patriots/Eagles game would have been, it would have been a lot of pressure for me. My dad (and I, via my dad) have been lifelong Eagles fans. Dad's a born and raised southeast Pennsylvania boy. He roots for the Eagles, even when he bitches every year how they suck and he needs to find a new team. He sticks by them. This year I don't think he can complain too much.

The Patriots, of course, are the home team. And yeah, I like the Patriots, not only because they're the home team, but also because for the most part, it's a *team.* Yeah, there's been some bullshit this year with Terry Glenn, that thankfully seems to be over with. We've had discussions about quarterback capabilities, but I think the past couple weeks have thrown all of those aside. I'm not a die-hard, but honestly I don't think it's possible to be a die-hard without having been a native of the area. [erich] has a right to be a die-hard. I'm a transplant. I do root for the home team. (I reserve the right to amend that clause if I ever have to move to New York, because I will never EVER root for New York teams).

It's weird... growing up we didn't have a home team. The closest team to Billings was Denver, and it was still a 10 hour drive away. Too far to really make a connection to. Now I'm in a town that has a team going to the Superbowl.

It's just really weird. It's a personal connection to that big event that's way overpriced and larger than life, but still fun to celebrate as if it were a holiday about as big as Thanksgiving (and is, in a number of ways, to many people).

And yeah... this entry's falling apart... but I just wanted to ramble for a while.

--Mel.

4:08 p.m. - 28 January 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda