measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Landlord issues

As [erich] is well aware, I've had it about up to *puts hand slicing at nose* here with my landlord.

I've lived in my apartment building for 2 1/2 years now. Since I've been there, something's been under construction at all times. That doesn't bother me too much when it's repairing floors or repainting walls, etc. Something to make the building nice, cool, no problem.

The thing that pisses me off is that on an average of every other week, I'm getting some sort of notice that they MAY be entering my apartment for some pissant little thing. Checking the batteries on the smoke alarm, testing the fire alarm (on different days, mind you... these two things could and should have been done together), exterminators, etc. It's been much more noticeable and frustrating since September when my new lease started, and with a new rider to my lease showing up out of the blue, the outside of our building now being under perpetual repair as they firm up the foundation (the building looks like a damn slum at the moment). I don't trust my landlord anymore. And I'm about at the end of my rope.

This morning Erich shows up to pick me up for work, as has become our typical morning routine, and he finds another note for me... my landlords telling me that they're entering my apartment TOMORROW to check on the condition of my bathroom and kitchen for potential upgrade issues.

This is the third notice in a week. The first was about the hot water going off for a while as they work on the water heater. The second about having to get my carpets cleaned, as per my lease states, twice per year.

Now they're planning on coming into my apartment on short notice-- 24 hours notice.

FUCK.

The problem is not them coming into my apartment, although this constant invasion of privacy is driving me nuts. The problem is that per my lease, I'm not supposed to have cats in there. And while it used to be easy to get them outta there when LGM lived in Boston for an evening, now it's not so easy. PLUS Fizzy's just come home from the vet this week from getting spayed. I don't want to move her if I don't have to.

So I called my landlord this morning, and asked them if I could arrange a time sometime next week to have them stop by, because my place is completely ripped apart due to me trying to get stuff into storage. This fact is not a lie. I'd rather get it cleaned up before they come in, so they can actually SEE what horrible condition things are in (the bathroom needs to be completely retiled because the grout is rotting out in the tub... I've already lost four tiles. The kitchen is completely out of date, and I have that beautiful 70's almond color for my stovetop and fridge... and it's a single-door fridge/freezer, on top of that).

Of course, I always get the answering service. Never a live human being. This REALLY pisses me off. I understand screening calls. My last job was at a family business where two companies were running out of one place-- a public insurance adjuster's firm, and a landlord's office. I know how they run, particularly since the landlord side of this business was an obnoxious one.

However, this leaving a note and running, never to return calls, just pisses me off.

Dammit. What the hell am I going to do with the cats for tomorrow?!?

--Mel.

*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*

3:05 p.m.

Well, at least that's over with. My landlord's office called about an hour ago, got the info they wanted, and aren't coming in. Thank god.

So I can get my laundry done and pick stuff up at a sane pace. :) This is a good thing. Trust me. Now I just need to get a tub packed for Erich so he can bring one down to storage and get this mess control started...

3:05 p.m. - 24 January 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda