measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Con-trekking across the universe...

Arisia is here! :) Woo hoo!

Has it really been a year since Arisia last year, where I had a blast, even though I was only there for the better part of eight hours?

*sigh*

In the world of geekdom, and particularly of convention (aka "con") geekdom, I'm frighteningly conservative and straight-laced. While I watch X-Files and Star Trek and enjoy Renaissance Faires (in costume), I'm otherwise pretty straight-laced. I could care less about the huge loophole in said-episode, or the technobabble for science fiction. I simply enjoy watching them and getting a story told to me.

Oh yes... and there's one other difference between me and the generic con-geek...

... I bathe. Regularly. With soap. :)

Well, to be fair, I found this problem much more dramatic at LunaCon last year than at Arisia. Or perhaps I was too awed by the entire fan-run con experience last January. It was my first one, after all. :)

Ah well... in any case, that subtle difference does seem to separate me (and my entire gaming group, for that matter) from your average con goer.

But still... now that it's my second Arisia, I'm anxiously planning where I'm going to go, what I'm bringing, that kind of thing. I want to be INVOLVED this year and have a blast.

So, on my packing list for today, there is:

    1) Ren Faire Clothes, to be worn as my lungs allow

    2) Gaming backpack, with all characters I really haven't used if there's some sort of pick-up

    3) Two changes of clothes--one for each day.

    4) toiletries... particularly Aleve and Mouthwash for post-party mouth recovery

    5) Bodhran for the drumming circle

    6) Money... for STUFF

Ah yes... the joys of cons. :)

The thing about Arisia that I loved is the diversity of it. It's a total fan con... there's a little bit of something for everyone. If you ONLY like Anime, there's a 24-7 Anime room for you. There are dancing instructions, for everything from belly to morris dancing. There are countless seminars for literature, both reading and writing. And there's gaming. Again, a 24-7 gaming room open for your enjoyment. And if you're into alternative lifestyles (in the forms of BSDM or polyamory), there's some of that there, too.

Plus... STUFF. Lots of stuff. Vendors from everywhere. *drool*

I'm seriously thinking of buying a didjeridu this year. I was eyeing them last year, but fundage kept me back. :) I've wanted one ever since I first saw Dot and the Kangaroo when I was little. They're just so cool.

I'm also going to hit some seminars, hopefully to get some inspiration to start writing my own campaigns. Whether or not they'll ever actually get played? Who knows. But it'll get me doing some fictional writing, which is never a bad thing.

*drool*

I'm off until Sunday or Monday... whichever day I feel somewhat recovered on.

Until then... GO PATS! :)

12:15 p.m. - 18 January 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda