measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A full weekend of geekyness ahead

Well, it was a good birthday. Best one in a while, actually. :)

[Erich] and I went out to dinner on Thursday evening at the 99 Restaurant, and got my favorite: gold fever wings, which are coated with this great mustard BBQ sauce that's completely addicting. Before dinner, we went to see Harry Potter again. The movie theater at Fresh Pond is now considered "old" and the screen was tiny. We were at a 5:20 show, and there were only 5 people in the theater. I still think HP goes much faster than Lord of the Rings, but I think the whimsical nature is what helps that. I still want to see HP on a stadium-seating screen, though. It's definitely a case of "Once you've had this, you'll never want to go back..."

Pardon me a sec... Colley's meowing for attention... cat gets picked up, rubs a bit, puts down

Anyway...

So it was a nice pre-birthday evening with my love. Low key, relaxing, and just one of those cuddly nights.

Since Erich was working yesterday until 8 p.m. as always, I decided to take a half-day off from work and have a "Mel Day." I worked until around 1 p.m., and then headed out into the rain to do some birthday book shopping. A perfect way to spend a rainy afternoon. :)

Near where I work, there's a building called the New England Mobile Book Fair. It's a discount bookstore with surplus and out of print remainders stacked nearly ceiling high. I love wandering through the stacks there. Got myself a hardback copy of HP: Sorcerer's Stone, which I needed to complete my hardcover set. Also got Nora Robert's "Heaven and Earth," which is the second of a trilogy. Normally I despise romance books, but the Pagan undertones make it an easy guilty pleasure. :)

After wandering THAT bookstore for a while, I came home, grabbed a quick lunch, and checked my email. Chatted with Ade for a few via IM before heading out again. Went by the post office, got my mail (ACK! Full mailbox!), and then went up to Arlington to Unicorn Books.

Now, Unicorn Books is one of those places I love to get to whenever I can. It's just really hard to get to. By bus, it's over 90 minutes, and I have to switch busses only once in that time. It's just... UP THERE. But there really aren't any decent New Age shops in the city limits of Boston. I've gone through withdrawls. :) After about an hour and a half, a couple cups of Zinger tea, stroking the resident cat (who refused to get up from his chair, although he'd purr so loud you could hear it from the other room), and sniffling from the patchouli incense, I walked out with a new CD for Reiki work (not bad... I used it last night), the 21 Lessons of Merlyn book that I've eyeballed for years, and some Dragon's Blood incense.

I got back home around 6:45 or so, popped online, and chatted with Erich until it was time to swing over to pick him up from work. He and the guys dropped me off, and I had a relaxing rest of my birthday between phone calls from parents and take-out Chinese food.

It was a good day. A Mel day. Exactly what I needed.

Of course, now that it's the weekend, it's going to be busy again, but fun. Erich and I are doing a LOT of gaming this weekend. Two different groups, one today (JT's standard game), and tomorrow we're going over to Kale's house for his pickup of Erich's homebrew world.

Ade apparently has plans for me this weekend, and both Tan and Erich are playing innocent. *sigh*

I do love it, but at the same time am shy about the attention. I do enjoy it... I just don't want to be appearing like I need to be the center of attention. :) But I'm sure I'll be at least highly amused by whatever Ade's deciding to torture me with. :)

Off to get dressed and get game stuff together...

11:18 a.m. - 12 January 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda