measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Privacy issues...

I started this as a segment of the previous entry, but realized it really needed to be broken up into its own spot here. This is what happens when I start free-versing....

Ade, JT's daughter, decided that she wanted an online journal yesterday, so I helped her set it up. Here I found graphics for her, and I like them better than mine. :) So Ade, dear, those graphics might be finding their way to my pages shortly! Not here, but on my actual page that I never get around to cleaning up. :)

It's kinda funny, because it defeats the purpose of my having nicknames for people, since Ade's probably going to be going by first names all the time. But I'm not going back and changing all of my entries so that they're matching at this point. :) I hope Ade enjoys hers, and hopefully will be able to write freely about what's on her mind. Although I do have to caution her, as pseudo-aunt, that some reservation is probably necessary in speaking her mind at times. Don't want to get in trouble with the parents for crossing over a line.

In the meantime, [erich] and I have discussed why he's not writing in his journal, and I can completely understand his reasoning-- he's just not sure how he feels about opening up to a group of strangers. I do respect it, even if I might sound like I'm arguing with him in the car about it. Comfort points with privacy are so different in everyone. Alayean commented in my guestbook yesterday: "I know it's your life and all, but, it always makes my writting and my problems pale in comparison.". At first, it kinda took me aback, to be honest. I had to wonder-- do I project my life as being bad, and always having problems? I guess I do in a way, since some of the most passionate writing time I spend is when I'm angry about something. And I'm sure it would drive more than a few people crazy to know how long it usually takes me to rattle off an entry. And no, I rarely spell-check. :) You can generally tell.

I truly hope that Alayean doesn't feel that my writing makes her writing and problems pale in comparison, and that she was just complimenting me on my journal (which I accept very happily, by the way). We all express ourselves in different ways, and have knack for different types of expression. If people met me in person, you'd probably find me very opinionated, but it takes a LONG time to get me to voice opinions verbally, and even then if I feel like I'm getting cornered, I start failing out rather than make sense about anything. Once it starts, stand back. But as communicative as I am here, most people would go insane trying to have a verbal conversation with me about things-- I go all over the place and really don't talk coherantly that often. Call it a gift from my father. *shrug*

In all honestly, though, I do hope that Erich will find a way to write about things-- maybe not personal stuff, but perhaps create HIS gaming journal out of it. But again, I know that I physically need to write to stay sane in my life. Whether it's journaling or penpal letters or fanfic, I need to write. (and oh, let's not get into the realm of fanfic just yet. *wince*). It's cathartic to me. It's my outlet to get rid of crap that's on my mind, and to celebrate the moments of my life that I really do treasure, although more often than not, I keep those to myself.

I don't argue that I've had a bit of a wild ride in life. But as much as I bitch and complain about things, I wouldn't have it any other way. Because without it, I wouldn't be me. :)

--mel.

1:39 p.m. - 10 January 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda