measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear Andi...

an open letter to a lifelong friend

Dear Andi~

Hello, my dear... It's been a while. Almost a year, in fact. And I thought I'd be seeing you in a couple weeks, walking down the aisle, completing another part of that life journey that the two of us have shared since we were two.

But for some reason, I can't seem to get a hold of you. You called me sometime in late October-early November, but in the insanity that was happening here between work and the breakdown of my friendship with Jason, I just couldn't bear to talk on the phone with anyone at that point. I was definitely in "Measi recomposure" mode. I saved your message with the intent on calling you back over Thanksgiving or shortly after.

Well, with the holiday craziness, I completely forgot about the saved message until it was too late-- and it was wiped off my voice mail system sometime in early December. I remembered I needed to call you on your birthday. But by that time, it was too late.

I don't know what's happening with you, or if the wedding was still on, delayed, or if something bad has happened and it's not happening at all. I'm worried about you and hoping things are okay. I hate being completely out of the loop.. Particularly since it's such an important event to miss.

I called the phone number that I had for you, and heard that message stating that it had been disconnected. I tried again a week later, just in case you'd simply forgotten to pay a bill during all of the holiday craziness (you never know, after all). I checked online and cross-referenced. I sent emails to you at Colorspan, which is where I had you working. Emails bounced, phone calls were thwarted. And with your parents no longer living in Billings, my immediate access to get your whereabouts are just no longer there.

I don't want you to think I'm skipping out on you. I know my friendship with Jen suffered when I wasn't able to make her wedding four years ago. I couldn't afford the plane ticket then, or get the time off work. And I've regretted that ever since. But you and I are sisters in just about every sense of the word. To miss your wedding would be like skipping out on an important family event. It just shouldn't be done. In fact, the money for the ticket is sitting in my bank account, just waiting for me to call Northwest and spend it.

But I can't get a hold of you.

And I really can't afford to fly out to Montana right now unless it's to see you on this special day.

While the money is there for the ticket, I can't let it sit there anymore because the creditors are calling me just about every day at my house. I can't justify holding out any longer to see if an announcement is going to show up in my mailbox. I can only assume that something has happened. I know a lot can happen in a year.

Through a lot of digging, Dad was able to find an address for your parents. Again, no phone number could be found. But it's something. It's something I can send this letter to, in hopes that it will reach you. And so I'm hoping that they're still there, or that the letter can be forwarded to you somehow and we can touch base.

I miss you and I love you. I hope that you're okay.

I hope that I'll hear from you soon.

Your friend and adopted sister,

Melissa

3:57 p.m. - 8 January 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda