measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Getting my fix... *twitch*

The planets have aligned. The heavens rejoice. The Gods have decided that I am worthy of their assistance and not only an object for their personal amusement...

My cable has been fixed!!!

After two weeks of withdrawl of new episodes of Buffy, X-Files, and 24. After the silence that has filled my apartment from the lack of the History Channel drowning out the noise on the street... I am able to take advantage of learning again by osmosis as I play Neopets on my computer.

Oh yes... life is good. :)

Okay, okay... so I'm a bit melodramatic. But after three attempts to have it reinstalled (two of them on workdays, including today), it's been the new running aggrivation of the month. Granted, I can deal with the cable issue far more happily than the LGM issue (another one that's thankfully at rest right now). But it's still been an aggrivation that I'd rather not deal with.

In any case, the cable is on. And my grandparents and my mom gave me a wonderful early Christmas gift of items that were going to have to be bought in the near future ANYWAY... a new TV and VCR. And not just a new TV... but a 27 inch TV. Which looks like a 55 inch movie screen in my little studio apartment.

Oh yes, I'm in heaven. :)

*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*

On less superficial terms, Erich and I got back last night from a wild weekend of family visits. We had a lot of fun just wandering around Lehigh Valley, getting lost on back roads, and reliving parts of my childhood as the kid who came from Montana to visit her grandparents in Easton.

He met EVERYONE in my mom's side of the family, although a couple were very briefly. And as I'd hoped, Erich was immediately welcomed in. Hell, by my mom's behavior toward Erich, you'd think that he and I had been a couple for years. My grandpa even opened the vodka collection for shots one night. In my family, vodka sampling shots with Grandpa is A Big Deal. That's a sign of opening all the doors of kindness and welcoming someone into the house with no reservations. It's much like welcoming a new member of the family into the fold.

That step will undoubtedly come at Christmas Eve, all fates willing, when Erich gets to stumble over the words of Polish Christmas Carols with the rest of us. :)

I guess I should just start teaching him about those crossed L's and their proper pronunciation now...

-Mel.

12:32 p.m. - 26 November 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda