measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jus' po'

It's official--

I live in an apartment that rakes $1,130.00 out of me every month, and I am po'.

I'm really po'.

Well, not horribly so. I actually am pretty well off, things considering. And I have a lot of responsibility to take with my finances to get them in gear. And quite frankly, getting a second job to kickstart me into paying off some bills might not be a bad thing.

But before enslaving myself to a place where I'll be unappreciated and just another body flipping burgers in the evening, the cut backs on things that I like, but don't need are happening, starting with my health club at the beginning of November. I loved Healthworks. But at $65 per month, it just was too much for me right now. So that's gone. *sigh* Honestly, though, the only loss I feel is the steam room there. That eucalyptus steam room was wonderful after working out. :) But with my cranky ankle that I seem to retwist annually, going to the gym was becoming less and less exciting as the fear of rehurting the ankle became larger. Since I don't have a car, I need to be able to walk. It's imperative. So no healthclub.

The second cut back was on cable TV. Until last week, I did the works with TV-- movie channels, all of the cable, etc. And again, $65. And no, we don't have broadband yet. We're talking original-style cable TV here, folks. Well, with finances the way they've been, cable got shut off on Friday. Fine, no problem. I went to pay them last night since today was payday. Apparently, in only four days, they'd decided to cut my line. Which means that I have to pay a reinstallation fee plus the first month's cable fee upfront to have it turned back on. Bastards. So fine, we'll go with only networks for now. While I'm going to go through withdrawl pains from not having the Weather Channel in the morning, or the History Channel in the afternoons... or FX for Buffy for that matter, I also know that if I can just catch the current TV shows I watch on the networks, I'll be satiated. Sadly, won't be able to catch Queer as Folk if they start a new season-- but it's reruns anyway right now. :( They'll probably restart in the spring. Besides, it's almost the holidays. With parties and travel and such, I'm barely going to be home. If nothing else, a two-month reprieve through the end of December/January will pay for Christmas presents. And who knows, I might not miss the extra channels after a while. As long as I can watch Buffy, 24, and the X-Files each week, I'll be fine. I have tons of penpalling to do, computer games to play, and lots and lots of gaming materials. I probably need to wean myself off of TV a bit anyway.

But with the realities of moving next summer becoming ever more present in my life, and needing to get a car, the realities of getting finances under control and getting a grip on things is becoming MUCH more important. It's time to grow up and get the last thing that's a major hangover from being a kid out of the juvenile bin.

--Mel.

10:07 a.m. - 15 November 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda