measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Planning for a planner...

It's mid-November. Which means that I need to start making a bunch of plans....

    1) Thanksgiving travel

    2) Yule celebrations

    3) Christmas presents

    4) Christmas travel

    5) New Year's plans

    6) Getting ready for the holiday party season

And part of this planning involves picking out next year's planner. As in my personal organizer planner.

I've used some sort of organizer since high school. My father needed it to keep track of my dance schedule vs. homework schedule and whatnot. Some weeks I had 3 hours of dance practice a week, some weeks it was up to 12. Sometimes on Saturdays. And my father, raising my brother and I on his own while working his ass off as the senior OB/GYN in town, who is a Type A personality as it is (the guy makes dinner menus for a month in advance... it's insane. I love him, but yikes), wanted me to have a planner.

So one of the few Type A personality traits that I've picked up from my father is my personal organizer.

Three years ago, a co-worker introduced me to Franklin Covey brand organizers. And ooooh, what a disasterous door that was to open. Because not only do they have nice-sized organizers. But they have ones with really nifty patterns on them. No more boring ones. We can go colorful here!

So about this time for the past three years, I've been debating what style of organizer I wanted to get. For the past two years, I bought the Hallmark special edition style. But they're using the same one this coming year, and it's time for a change. So... the seasonal backgrounds, or the Shoebox greeting card one? For anyone else who has a Franklin Covey planner, you probably can at least smirk at what I'm talking about here. It's like trying to pick out backpacks or a winter coat. It's something you're going to have to use every day... so you'd better like the one you pick. So what happens when you like SEVERAL of them? *sigh*

I decided on the Shoebox one. I need humor in my daily routine. Next year, if I don't like the Hallmark one, I'll get the Seasons one. It's a staple pattern anyway, just like the Shoebox one.

Ugh... organization. In advance.

Ugh. I'm turning into my father, I swear.

(and somewhere, back in Montana, a celebratory "yaaaaaah" in the Monty Python style, comes from my father)

10:28 a.m. - 13 November 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda