measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

But... it's a gazebo!

It's been an event-filled weekend, and I'm wiped. *sigh*

Yesterday we had a game up at JT and Tan's. We wound up having 10 players at the game-- not too bad. :) The entire Boston crew, plus Tan and the kids, Erich and I, and Erich's friend Perkis. Busy busy busy. We had a great game, and encountered one of the legends of gaming lore, The Gazebo.

(now... why do I hear The Finn and Hooligan giggling in the background?)

Yes, that's right. We fought a gazebo. :) Why? Because JT just HAD to throw it at us at some point in our gaming adventures together because of the gazebo's legendary role in gaming lore.

The legend of The Gazebo developed out of a gamer's paranoia and misunderstanding of his GM's intentions during a game. Players, including myself, develop a slight sense of paranoia at all times that the simple little fluffy bunny sitting on the side of the road will become the vicious Beast from Hell (with Loooooonnnnng pointy teeth!) from Monty Python, decapitating its victims with ease.

Here is the basic story, as found on several gaming sites on the internet:

    DM: You see a well groomed garden. In the middle, on a small hill, you see a gazebo

    Dudlee Duerite: A gazebo? What color is it?

    DM: (Pause). It's white Eric.

    Dudlee Duerite: How far away is it?

    DM: About 50 yards

    Dudlee Duerite: How big is it?

    DM: (Pause). It's about 30ft across, 15ft high, with a pointed top

    Dudlee Deurite: I use my sword to detect good on it.

    DM: It's not good Eric, it's a gazebo

    Dudlee Duerite: I call out to it.

    DM: It won't answer. It's a __gazebo__

    Dudlee Duerite: I shoot it with my bow (roll to hit). What happened?

    DM: There is now a gazebo with an arrow sticking out of it.

    Dudlee Duerite: (Pause) Wasn't it wounded?

    DM: OF COURSE NOT, ERIC! IT'S A GAZEBO!

    Dudlee Duerite: (Whimper) But that was a +3 arrow!

    DM: I suppose you could try to burn it, but I don't know why anybody would even try, it's a @#$%!! gazebo!

    Dudlee Duerite: (Long pause. He has no axe or fire spells). I run away

    DM: (Thoroughly Frustrated). It's too late. You've awakened the gazebo. It catches you and eats you.

    Dudlee Deurite: (Reaching for dice). Maybe I'll roll up a fire-using mage so I can avenge my Paladin

    GLOSSARY

    Gazebo - A) a monster (see monster section); B) a noun; C) something paladins attack D) A wooden structure about 30ft across, 15ft high with a pointed top, often found sleeping on lands belonging to the wealthy

So anyway... during Saturday's game, we enter the courtyard of a destroyed keep. Untended trees and other plants are everywhere. But over a one side is a gazebo. A beautiful white, pristine gazebo. Now... on the mention of the gazebo, the majority of the gaming group is already giggling. The quotes of the above story, in some variation and form, start coming out. A few people start getting wary of said gazebo. At that, I'm cracking up, and go up ONTO said gazebo.

Well, hell. BECAUSE this is JT, who will happily take some gaming legend and twist it beautifully, this gazebo starts morphing back into its original shape... it's a damn uber-mimic (JT upped its abilities so it could be large enough to take the form of a gazebo) and nearly whacks out three members of our party. *shakes head*

So I stand before you, having fought the Mighty Gazebo, and having added my name to the players looped into that legend in some way.

*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*

Following that insanity, I've had to put in some hours of work here at home in order to catch up and feel on top of things for the office tomorrow. I had 12 budget forecasts that are due to the business office from project managers on Thursday, and I just wasn't able to get a lot of the work done last week to give them my database numbers. I brought home all of the forecasts. Got three done on Friday evening, have gotten four done so far today, and I hope to get at least two or three more done tonight before bed. That way I can get some other stuff done tomorrow. *sigh*

I did treat myself today so it didn't feel like I was working too hard. I did the forecasts today over at the local coffeeshop over a tall glass of chai latte, listening to the greatest hits CD of The Police. I think I've concluded that listening to The Police makes me get stuff done. I used to listen to that CD when I would crank out term papers for college. Maybe it's the beat of the music. I don't know. But I definitely seem to be more productive. I'll have to find where that CD went to so I can bring it into work for stress points.

I'm most likely going to take the commuter rail in and get to work early. I have a ton of work to do, and quiet time without people coming in to harass me about stupid stuff is wonderful. I enjoy my job. I just don't see why I should be babysitting people who are the same age or older than my biological parents. *grin*

In any case, off to make something for dinner and plow through a few more of these.

And since I won't see you until tomorrow... GO DIAMONDBACKS! :)

6:29 p.m. - 4 November 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda