measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gloomy Mondays

*sips coffee*

Ah yes... the sign of Autumn in New England. Either it's bright and sunny outside (temperature being extremely varied), or it's about as dismally grey as it can possibly get without say, sleet.

And no, I'm not asking for the sleet, Goddess. Hold off on that for a couple months, 'kay? Danke.

For the first time this autumn, I had to turn on the lights in my apartment as I got ready for work. I am one of those slackers who gets up around 7:30, despite the fact that I have to physically be out the door no later than 8:15 or I'll miss my shuttle bus to work. And yes, again this morning, the weekend-only morning person syndrome went into effect. (see my previous entry). I fought to get up at 7:20... finally got out of bed at 7:30 after giving Colley ten minutes of devoted time since he's finally coming up onto my bed again in the morning looking for a chin scratch. Listened to the news as I got ready for work, and headed out the door into the um... soup... that is the Boston weather today.

Now, this isn't to say that there's something drearily pretty about rainy days. If nothing else, it makes the autumn colors all the more glorious since the yellows, oranges, and reds cut through the grey in bright bursts. If it weren't for them, it would be much harder to get moving in such a morning. It's quite amazing how the lack of sunshine really honestly does make a difference in people's behavior and energy levels.

But having to turn the lights on... at 7:30 in the morning... just put that pit of dread in me for the next upcoming event in New England daylight.... the return to "Eastern Standard Time" on October 28th. That oh, so wonderful day when all of a sudden, New England is thrown into pitch blackness by 4:30 in the afternoon, to stay that way all winter. There's a reason why it's called a "cold, dark winter," I think. Everything in New England seems to be done in darkness. Getting up and going home... it's all in the dark.

The guy who came up with the concept must have got off on being a vampire for Halloween. Seriously.

So for a bit of a cheer-up in my usual geeky sorta way, I came across a couple websites that literally had my gaming group in fits of laughter this weekend. If you're bored and need something to do, I'm curious what would happen with using this technique on other movies: Star Wars Pants, Star Wars Spankings.

Anyway... off to get another coffee and get the paperwork done for the day...

--Mel.

9:36 a.m. - 15 October 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda