measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*stunned silence*

I can't do anything but stare blankly at the computer screen right now as my mind races through a million fears.

Our country is getting bombed.

LGM is okay. His mom is okay. Twillight is okay down in Washington.

I still have to see if my friend Ivanna's okay. Last I knew, she worked on the 92nd floor of the World Trade Center.

Our fucking arrogant president who decides to wave his dick around at the rest of the world got a horrid slap back in his face-- at the expense of innocent lives. The bastard better be censured for his arrogance.

I fucking HATE being right with predictions that our country would be attacked within the first year of his presidency. I fucking hate that LGM was right about it, too.

I'm terrified.

I'm devistated.

I'm silenced.

----------

3:25 p.m.

I came home from work around 11 a.m.-- just couldn't stay there anymore. I needed to cry, I needed to mourn, and I needed to pray-- all of which I didn't feel comfortable doing at work.

So I came home and have been flipping channels in shock. I can't comprehend it. I truly can't.

Both flights that crashed into the World Trade Center originated in Boston. They originated less than ten miles from my house. Flying missles of death carrying dozens of people, many of whom were fellow Massachusetts residents. And whomever took control of the planes-- did they get on the planes here? Are they dead, or are they celebrating from someplane remote?

Are those Palestinians who were celebrating with candy in the Middle East part of the organization of the fuckers who did this? How can they possibly expect any respect from the rest of the world ever again?

The World Trade Center doesn't exist anymore. I saw the towers only a couple of months ago from the Staten Island Ferry. Those buildings don't exist. They disappeared in just an hour's time. Gone. Those movie images of New York's skyline are obsolete. The postcards I picked up in New York on July 2nd are obsolete. These two gigantic buildings that capped the city's heights are no more. And with their collapse, the extinguishing of most likely over 10,000 lives at least.

And the same song keeps going through my mind. A song I always used for venting frustration. Now it chills me with its words relating to today:

Feelin' like it's all over, feelin' like there's no love

Feelin' like it's not easy, breathin' life in the dust

On a countdown to zero take a ride on the nightmare machine

There ain't gonna be heroes

There ain't gonna be anything

Oh, Here it comes, here comes the night

Here it comes, hell in the night

Here it comes, here comes the night

When we all fall down

When we walk into silence

When we shadow the sun

When we surrender to violence

Then the damage is done

I don't wanna be there

I don't wanna be anywhere

--Def Leppard, Gods of War

The damage is done, and I'm not sure I want to be anywhere. Our lives have been changed forever, and the USA is no longer a safe-haven of humanity on the other side of the world from all of the evils of war.

This was the first attack on the USA *mainland* since the Civil War. And even then, that was American fighting Americans.

We're not safe in our blanket of oceans anymore. And I pray that this isn't the start of WWIII, as I've been hearing rumors of on the TV all day.

--Mel.

10:00 a.m. - 11 September 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda