measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

another weekend, another gaming book...

I also added this entry to geeks.

*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*

My name is Melissa. I'm a geek.

More specifically, I'm a gaming, ren faire, sci-fi sorta geek.

And on Saturday, every one of these topics was brought up. In fact, I believe it was in that specific order, actually.

Saturdays all summer have been gaming days. It's unusual--we usually play Dungeons & Dragons twice per month. But because our regular DM decided to let one of the other players do a "shared world" scenario, we've rotated back and forth... and have wound up playing just about every weekend. So around 1 p.m. on Saturday, my boyfriend Erich(also a self-proclaimed proud geek) and I start our trek from Boston to Nashua, NH. We got there an hour early, misjudging the unusually light traffic going northbound. I guess everyone was going to Cape Cod for that last breath of summer sun. *shrug*

We chat about the game and our characters on the way up, talk about King Richard's Faire, which is Massachusetts 6-weekend Renaissance Faire starting on Labor Day weekend. We make our plans to go. I joke about how we need to get Erich some pants--the only thing he's missing for his Ren Faire costume. To which he proclaims "but I shall be known as the Pantless Avenger... Huzzah!" (This I gotta see).

So by 2:30, we're in the wilds of Nashua, New Hampshire. This week, unlike two weeks ago where we took the grand tour of Nashua trying to find a damn Dunkin' Donuts, we know exactly where to go to get iced coffee for us and the doughnuts (mmmm.... doughnuts) for the gaming crew. Cool. That issue's solved. Now what the heck to do with our time. We don't want to come unexpectedly an HOUR early for the game.

Wait! I realize... our regular DM, JT, mentioned that there was a comic/gaming store near his house that he thought was really good. He mentioned it was on Main Street. Why don't we go see if we can find it and check it out? My boyfriend loves this idea, so we head down Main Street until we get to a place simply called "The Comic Shop."

How original, eh?

Well, this was a definite gamer's heaven... not only was it a comic/gaming/book/anime sorta place, it was right next door to both a KFC and take-out Chinese.

Yeah, definite geek spot.

We were in heaven--lots of stuff: funky dice (including ones made out of real stones, I might add. I'm eyeballing those obsidian ones), anime videos in English and Japanese, graphic novels, T-shirts, and TONS of gaming books, both new and used. I get my coveted copy of Drizzt's Guide to the Underdark, which I've been trying to find for several months. Well, gosh... I just have to go to New Hampshire to buy such things easily, I guess!

So after forty-five minutes, we leave there having spent entirely too much money, but we're satisfied and happy. Mmmmm... new gaming books. :)

And yet more money that I probably didn't need to spend... at least on pleasure... taken out of the bank account. :)

--Measi

12:17 p.m. - 20 August 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda