measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my name is... SNOT GIRL! *ha ha!*

ponderings about the human body while ill...

1) How the heck does so much mucus fit up there? Seriously. As gross as the stuff is, how does my body become a snot-factory in such a short period of time? And along with that train of thought... how exactly does one expell this without disturbing fellow workmates in adjoining cubicles? I've been heading outside. :)

2) Aren't cold sores supposed to show up near the mouth... not on the inside of the nose?

3) When did this pillow get shoved into the area where my brain is? (I'm convinced the brain is gone since I have the amazing ability to stare at a white, undecorated wall for several minutes on end without barely blinking... or having a thought).

4) Cold meds should work, right?

5) Cough meds should work, right?

6) Is it possible for sinus pressure to explode the head? Or... along those lines... if you're blowing your nose, could snot come out your ears? (it feels like it!)

If anyone has the answers to these questions, please illuminate me. Ugh.

All things aside, I'm feeling a BIT better. The cough seems to be more due to the weather (it's oppressive outside) than my cold, actually. I wasn't coughing today, except for the first-movement of the morning stuff, and then again when I went out into the 85 degree, 75 dewpoint weather. Tomorrow we're supposed to get a heat index of over 105 degrees... right along with the OUTDOOR company picnic. I think I'll grab a burger and a 'dog and head back to my desk to rest, rather than endure the elements.

One of my co-workers is a professional homeopathic medic, and she's helping me with trying to beat this cold via alternative medicine... I'm probably not spelling this right, but she put me on "Pulsatilla." (I think that's what her handwriting on the baggy says). It's actually helping loosen my sinuses, which is exactly what I need. Considering that not a single over the counter med worked, and my beloved Dimetapp Extendtabs are no longer available since they were yanked for that PPA thing earlier this year, I was at the end of my rope with meds.

So tonight I'm curling in front of my box fan on the floor, which is circulating the air from my inefficient window A/C unit. I have to do a bit of cleaning tonight, because a little fuzzball might be coming here tomorrow. I've just about kitten-proofed the apartment as well as I can (it will never be perfect) on short notice. My laundry pile, though, is screaming for a kitten to jump into it. *sigh*

I have some lentil soup with veggies from Trader Joe's to heat up for dinner (yummy!), lots of OJ and water, and other than the quick bout of cleaning, I'm just going to take it easy.

Thanks to everyone who has done some well-wishing. I do appreciate it. :)

Gonna go... hopefully will write more tomorrow.

*sniffle*

8:17 p.m. - 8 August 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda