measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Searching for the meaning of humanity

On the AOL religion boards (keyword: special delivery, go to other, and then go to religion), there is often a little debate going on between those of us who accept that multi-faith societies are okay and good for everyone, and those who believe that there is only One True Faith (tm).

A few people on the board thought my response was pretty cool to one particular overtly religious One True Way (tm) person... and I thought I'd share. Her stuff is the italics. Mine is in regular text.

>Understanding how and why we were created is crucial in realzing WHO we

>are. It is impossile to fully realize who you are unless you know the reasons

>why and by whom, and how you were created. How can you honestly seek answers

>to the question of who you are while dismissing the

>importance of how YOU, all the rest of us and this universe came into being

>in the first place?

I know exactly how I came into being in this world. My biological parents had sex, they conceieved me, I grew in the womb, and I was born. I was created because a sperm and and egg united, and created an embryo. *shrug* there's the answer to the first sentence you pose above.

The rest of who I am is determined by my experiences through life.

I can honestly seek the answers because I know that the cycle of Nature is neverending, and that the Gods are all around us. Where we originally came from is not as important as where we are going. We can't change the past. We can change the future. And by understanding ourselves as we exist now is the only way to develop a better future.

Blessings,

Mel.

11:03 p.m. - 30 July 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda