measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

back to a normal schedule, whatever the heck that is

I come to my desk on this sunny, dry, warm Monday morning, and there's no one looking for me for post-move stuff, no one freaking out about their phone being disconnected, no problems with computers. Everything's Zen. And it's almost August, which means that now everyone will go on vacation because kids are coming home from camp and summer schools and such, and their parents would rather spend time with the kids (kudos to them) than send them to some sort of daycare, or leave them home alone.

I ran late getting to the T this morning because I was too tired to take a shower last night before bed, and had to do so this morning after cleaning my apartment yesterday. Colley wanted a ton of attention, too (his usual half-hour of devoted chin scratches, tummy rubs, etc. was not enough, I guess), so I didn't get out of the apartment until nearly 8:20. And of course, it was the one morning that not a single MBTA bus was running up Massachusetts Ave. while I was walking, so I couldn't save any time. *sigh* Well, I saved a bit of time... I didn't get coffee on the way up today. (for those adventures, see my last entry).

I get to work around 9:20 as I normally do, a bit grumbly because we have a new shuttle bus driver who is on a power-trip because he wants to see everyone's shuttle pass (fine, no problem), and it turns out that the one I was given by our company's front desk was a 2000 pass, so he decided that it was time to start power tripping with "If you don't have the correct one tomorrow, you cannot enter the bus." Actually, Mr. Bus Driver, I *could* if I gave you $2. However, because of your attitude trip, if I can't get an updated one downstairs sometime today, I can just take the MBTA bus and walk the four blocks to the office. *shrug* I can use the exercise anyway.

So I get to my desk, and all is quiet. And I briefly look over the piles of paper that have been strewn about over the last month since I moved. I can finally organize this. I'll *gasp* have the TIME to organize this, and finally make it my own little cozy office cubicle. Maybe a plant or two... and I gotta bring in my copy of the "Make Way for Kitties" painting, which is an offshoot of the well-known kids book "Make Way for Ducklings," which is now part of Boston lore.

And I have to laugh at myself, because I'm finding myself acting too much like an adult here. I'm excited over my cubicle. I'm making it homey. Dear god... I'm excited about going to work. Yikes. Isn't that a disgusting thought?

Now that the moves are finally over, I can start getting a rhythm down again. Contracts done on Tuesdays and Thursdays, filing on Wednesdays, etc. I can feel like I have some control over what's going on in my worklife. Granted, this will probably only be able to happen for August while everyone's on vacation, but heck... I'll take it for a month. :)

Control is a beautiful thing, and I can feel its warmth crawling through me this morning with my coffee.

Which reminds me, I need more.

--Mel.

10:03 a.m. - 30 July 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda