measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

of battling laundry and penmanship...

Colley was kind enough to remind me at 7:30 that I'd be late for work and that I'd better get up. *grumble* Too bad it's Saturday. I wonder why he never does this during the week, though?

I guess he really is accustomed to my schedule now. Furry alarm clock. Gotta love it.

It's now just before ten, and I haven't felt inclined to get up and go grab coffee yet. I will need to consume some before starting my attack on The Beast (see yesterday's entry). While doing that, I'll do my weekly run to my post office to pick up any mail that's arrived at my post office (both a yaah! and *sob* coming from me on that one). As my dad jokingly called it when I was in junior high and high school, the "known world is writing again, M." I have yet to go to the post office each week and NOT get at least 5 penpal letters, even if I didn't write any for a month. My postal address gets passed around (one of the reasons I have the post office box... $64 per year is most definitely a worthwhile safety precaution Just In Case), new people write... and most of them seem really cool and I want to respond to. And this is why I'm now in the state of AAAAAAAHHHHH! with letters. I have around 50 or so that need replies. And me, being the stubborn little person that I am, refuse to do form letters. So I write them by hand, and on occasion, do type them when I feel like bringing a few to work. (no printer at home).

Penpalling's hard work, I tell you. :) And dangerous--mostly to the wallet. I'm convinced I've put at least one postal worker's kid through college at this point. I've come to terms with the finances, and have resolved my self to not even looking to see what I spend. If I did, I'd cry. Seriously. But just for an example, my monthly budget on postage is probably somewhere between $25-30, once those international letters get figured in. I know people who spend double that, too.

The bottom line with penpalling is that it's a hobby that is part of my soul--just another form of writing. I was born with the need to write... every day. Writing to people is just one of those forms. I started penpalling when I was 7, and since then have never stopped.

So now, as I sit at my computer on a lazy Saturday, looking out the window between the leaves of the tree that blocks most of the summer sunlight into my place, I'm debating how today will go. Is it muggy out there? Is it going to rain? Do I need to put my A/C on, or will the box fan work well enough?

Choices, choices. Since I'm going to be working on The Beast for most of the day, a comfortable temperature airflow in here is a good thing. Today I'm working on laundry, then will scrub the bathroom and kitchen, and go back to penpalling and work on the paper mess for the rest of the day. I guess in a lot of ways, it's a boring Saturday. But I've been neglecting my place for a while, and it's making me nuts... so it's time to suck it up and just get to work.

At least one good thing-- after working hard today, I'll spend tomorrow afternoon with Erich. He's working today to cover someone else's shift that he traded with for Friday off (he moved into a new apartment yesterday). So the more I get done today, the better I'll feel about just having fun tomorrow.

Okay... now the thought of enjoying time with Erich is getting me moving. I'm off to get coffee and conquer this thing.

ONWARD HO! *sounds Attack Apartment Mess bugle*

9:52 a.m. - 23 June 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda