measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ponderings and revelations

Yesterday was an unusual day, and my mind was racing entirely too fast to write anything. It was a good day, although extremely stressful. And I'm surprised, because until around 11 a.m., it had "DEAR GOD... MONDAY!!!" written all over it.

I started the morning actually thinking about my journal, and some events over the weekend (and actually the last couple weeks) with it. It's strange. I originally created it to kick myself into writing, because my wire-bound journal had been sitting silent for over two months, and because my handwriting is so slow, it was torturous to write--my wrist had no way of keeping up with my brain. Now that I've had it for nearly three months, it's interesting to look back and see how the pissing and moaning has turned into me looking inward to find something interesting to talk about (not that my trials and tribulations aren't interesting--to me, anyway-- but it's a soap opera that will never end).

I've shared the address for this journal with a few friends (LGM being one of them, since I figured at this point, it's the only way I feel comfortable telling him how I feel... it's detached, and a bit clinical in parts), and met several new acquaintences (and hopefully eventual friends) via diary-x. I never thought I'd be making people's favorite journal lists and recs to other people, such as Jonathan, Debbie, and Tom have done, either on their pages or via email. It flatters me to no end. I've always been extremely critical about my writing, and don't consider myself very good. I write off the cuff, and very rarely go back to change *anything* in my entries. Apparently other people think so, which shocks me and thrills me at the same time. I'll try to not let it get to my head. :)


The other thing that happened yesterday was an announcement I've had my fingers crossed over for about a month or so. The boss of MY boss told me yesterday that I would be getting the job as the financial planner for the design department. There are hopes to eventually make this position cross-site, so I'd be in charge of budgeting and planning the design departments of three offices in the USA. I'm floored. It's a direction I never thought I'd be taking--I went to school to be a journalist. But I'm extremely excited about it, and know that being promoted to such a position in a publishing company, where most of the employees are in their late 30's and 40's, as a mid-20's newcomer hotshot, is pretty impressive. I'm excited and scared at the same time. I don't know much about the position other than that it's basically a huge expansion of what I'm doing now, and leaving the boring doldrums of lower-level admin work behind. I could even have an assistant now.

Yikes. Power. Control. All mine. And over the money of the art department of Prentice Hall, no less.

I think it's going to take me the rest of the year to let this sink in.

I'd better get to work before that promotion disappears...

--Mel.

9:25 a.m. - 19 June 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda