measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fundies revisited

In the third entry of my journal, I ranted about a particular Fundie whose stance on a particular friend of mine was so uncalled for that it pissed me and everyone else off.

The biggest problem was that I didn't know my friend (JT) very well at that point, and so my only option was to stay silent and not tell JT that I knew about The Fundie's true motivations behind choosing to stop playing at JT's once he and Tan moved to Nashua. Choosing to stay silent KILLED me, but I knew it was the only choice that I could make because of three reasons:

1) At that point, I didn't know JT or Tan very well, so I didn't want to get into the middle of something that I had no idea how catastrophic it could be.

2) The Fundie was out for the specific purpose of getting attention and stirring up trouble, because he was telling everyone EXCEPT JT and Tan his reasons.

3) It's none of my fucking business.

Instead of going to JT, I went to LGM. And we both agreed that we would say nothing until JT specifically brought it up himself.

That day came on the ride up from Lowell to Nashua tonight. And as soon as he did, a huge pile of guilt was released from my shoulders as I told JT the entire thing, and how I've known since mid-February, and how it killed me not to tell him. He was angry and shocked, particularly in the fact that I was the first to know (I work with The Fundie, which is how I know). But he was immediately amused when I told him how The Fundie was trying to validate his opinion using Scripture, and then my telling him that well, that's all fine and great... but you're not going to convince the practicing Pagan by using Biblical scripture to make your point. (JT and Tan cracked up laughing at that one).

Thankfully, while JT was pissed (and rightfully so) at the conspiracy b.s. that The Fundie had been trying to stir behind JT's back, he told LGM and me that "we upheld our own personal integrity by not getting involved, and that we did the right thing."

And I feel a lot better. I still am sad that I couldn't tell him, but I'm thankful that he recognized why. Because telling him and getting involved would have given The Fundie everything he wanted.

Thus The Fundie chapter that has been sitting open since February can now be closed. And hopefully the book can be burned instead of shelved.

--Mel.

1:33 a.m. - 17 June 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda