measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

morning news...

I'm sure I'm one of dozens of people who will write about this today. (and I'm just starting the entry for now, since I have to leave for work in about 15 minutes). Timothy McVeigh is all over the news this morning. He's scheduled to be put to death in less than 10 minutes now. He destroys 168 people through an explosion that rips apart an entire building. He gets a death that's nice and neat... almost clinical.

He doesn't deserve that. In fact, I think he should have had to do exactly what he claimed he didn't want to to-- rot in a cell for the rest of his life. Just lock him up, throw away the key.

There are times that I justify the death penalty in my head-- normally when it involves children as victims. But then I'm approached with this case, and watching the interviews and reading the papers... all I see is McVeigh having absolutely no remorse for the death of these people, as if they were means to an end--revenge on the government for Waco. What is his death going to do? Nothing except give another psycho reason for revenge against the government. He doesn't care about life, and even said that he'd rather die than live in prison--which is EXACTLY why he should sit there rotting.

The cycle will continue. While I mourn the loss, as a fellow American, that the citizens of Oklahoma City suffered, the death of McVeigh will not solve the problem. Their loved ones will remain dead, and they will be left without the focus of their anger and finally have to move on. Then hopefully they'll see what a waste that anger was.

It's 8:00. I think it's fitting to end here.

--Mel.

7:52 a.m. - 11 June 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda