measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

rambling through the day

I tried doing this earlier, but the grand-pooba of the design department called me and needed some book forecast numbers, so I had to quit out of IE to open other things. Now that THAT is done...

All week I've been playing secretary for the D&D group. We had a HORDE of items to divy up, and it's still ongoing through email. But at least a lot of the larger items seem to be out of the way. Without much pissing and moaning, even. What a fucking miracle. It's the ONE thing I hate about D&D sometimes, because nifty magic items always stir that primal human need of greed. I notice it mostly with Grace in our group, which I'm told is because of my dislike for her. Maybe it is, but she can be a pain in the ass. The advantage on this recent treasure trove is that she wasn't at the game, so she's lucky to be getting anything. At least there was no whining from her on the attribute books. I've witnessed that a couple times. Ugh.

In any case, my ranger character is awesome (how 80's of me, I know). She's a human from the Moonshaes in the Forgotten Realms. Is a professional tanner/leatherworker. And she carries a nasty sentient bow named Hawk's Descent. And it's power-woman. Think Xena with bow.

Arg. Me powerful.

And me acting weird, so me need food.


2:15 p.m.

Okay... the food was incredibly uninspiring today. Yick. Bleh. I need a serious chicken wing fix after work to correct that travesty of what they called BBQ chicken in the cafeteria.

The heat is really creeping into the office. The front "atrium" of our office not only has skylights, but the whole front wall is made of windows... AND it faces west. So as soon as you walk through the security door, WHAM! heat. I'm glad we're allowed to wear casual clothes to work. If I weren't in the polo and jeans, I'd be dying.

I haven't gotten a lot of the work done that I wanted to do... it's just been so damn hot in the office (because of course, once the security door gets opened, the heat comes in through it). I have timesheets to complete in just a few minutes... I'm waiting until 2:30 to do them so people can get them in. Once I'm done with calculating payroll, I'll start doing my backlog of data entry for timesheets. I think I have about a month's worth. And shit... my calculator is at home. Damn. Well, I'll use the one on my Mac, I guess.

I want to start using this journal not just for day-to-day ramblings, but also free association and deep thoughts on issues I find important. I joined a women's journaling list on yahoogroups. There's a lot of mail, though, so I'm just going to read on occasion at the website. I figure maybe I can get some topic inspirations to make this thing a bit more meaningful and interesting. I mean, after all--who really gives a shit about my cat passing out from the heat, right?

I'm going to put some topics in another entry so I can quick-find them. Then off to do payroll.

11:04 a.m. - 3 May 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda