measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm a n00b

Yesterday I pulled a first in my eighteen years of being four-eyed: I broke my glasses. Gah. I fell asleep with them on, and since I sleep with my head turned down into a pillow, the tension on the frame made the plastic string that holds one lens onto the frame snap. (I have glasses that don't have a bottom frame edge).

I'd wondered how those glasses kept together. I didn't see screws holding the lens in place like in Erich's frameless ones.

Now I know. You learn something every day, eh?

Anyway... I then went on a blind search for my old glasses so that I could see something. Couldn't find my most recent pair from last year, which are in a case somewhere around the apartment (Probably in a penpalling bin by now *snort*). I did, however, find my old OLD glasses. As in 1993 huge gold frame suckers. (well, at least they're not my pink ones from junior high and high school). I"m surprised that my prescription hasn't changed that much in ten years. My left eye's off a bit, but my right eye is just fine. What amazes me, though, is how heavy these are compared to my current ones. When they say featherweight, they're not kidding. Compared to those, these weigh a ton!

So they're re-stringing my current prescription frames today. I'll have them around noon. (how thankful am I that they don't have to be shipped somewhere for repair like they do for lens cutting?)

Have I mentioned how I want contacts again? I'd kill for them. I never should have gotten out of the habit of wearing them in college. *sigh*

But yeah, I'm grunge-era stylin' right now. I need to be wearing my flannel shirts, grubby X-Files t-shirt and frayed old jeans right now. Then I'd really feel my freshman year in college all over again. Fashion sense, I tell ya.

(because I have so much anyway).

* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *

I still haven't found the upload cord for the digital camera, which is why there are no Arizona (or Pennsylvania... now) pictures up. I did something to the camera while we were in Pennsylvania, and now it refuses to focus. I'm hoping it's just a fix-by-pressing-button-I-don't-know-about and that I can do that over the weekend.

* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *

Traditionally, I've done a "Closing Down the Year" entry, but just didn't get around to it this week. I'll probably work on one for later today once I get some chores done.

But if I don't-- I'll sum it up as: 2004 was actually a pretty damn good year. Weight-loss ego bruising aside, it was a good year.

Then again, compared to the "joys" of 2003, anything could be considered a good year for me.

So if I get too frantic as people are oft to do on New Years Eve-- a happy 2005 to everyone. May the new year bring you good memories, closer ties with friends and family, and good health and prosperity.

9:03 a.m. - 31 December 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda