measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blessed Yule

Another Turning of the Wheel has started, and fittingly it's the coldest day in recent memory here at home-- midwinter darkness, indeed. Single digits this morning. Brrrrrrr....

Sunrise was at 7:10 this morning. The sun will set at 4:15 p.m. We live in darkness in Massachusetts in winter. Beh.

The INTERESTING thing is that today is not the date of the latest sunrise nor the earliest sunset here in eastern Mass. The latest sunrise doesn't come until New Year's Day, when the sun will rise at 7:14. The earliest sunset was back on Dec. 13th, when it went down at 4:12.

I'm not doing all the math to see if today actually is the shortest day, based on that. We're talking a matter of sheer minutes. Let's just round it out for Massachusetts and say that December and early January are entirely too dark around here. I can't fathom how people survive in Alaska. I really can't.

No real plans for the holiday today-- since I also celebrate Christmas as a family holiday, I usually just wait until Christmas Eve to celebrate. Besides, the Polish traditions of my grandparents are far richer than anything I can cook up myself. :)

But for my fellow Pagans who celebrate Yule-- a Blessed one to you.

10:59 a.m. - 21 December 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda