measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Slip-sliding away...

I live in Massachusetts. It snows. It snows quite often this time of year. Which is why I can't fathom how absolutely stupid so many drivers are in this state.

People react to snow around here in one of two ways-- they drive at a complete crawl (read: 10 miles an hour... even on dry pavement) but ignore all things such as lane dividers, stop signs, or other drivers. These are the really dangerous folks, because they move so slowly out of sheer cluelessness that they will follow you to purposely run you off the road.

The other type of driver in snowy Massachusetts is the person who is oblivious to slick pavement and refuses to slow down at all, being an asshole to the drivers in front of him on the highway with flashing lights and getting about four inches from the tailpipe. In good weather, it's a common habit of Massholes in the left lane. But in snowy weather, they seem to think it's also acceptable to do this in the middle lane or even the right hand lane.

Fuckers.

Traffic, thanks to vacations and school closures, was surprisingly light today. But because I had to battle a combination of both psycho drivers, it still took me an hour to go my whopping 20 miles to work. I left at 9. I got to work at 10. I rescheduled the vet appointment for Gus that was at 11, because really-- I'd be doing a "hi, bye" here at the office to get back home, and I don't think my boss would approve.

And honestly, by slowing down just about five miles an hour on dry pavement and maybe 10 miles an hour on really sketchy looking pavement, you can drive just fine in the snow. It's good to be cautious-- but the extremes are stupid and honestly dangerous to the rest of us.

Fellow Massholes-- please drive with a shred of sanity. Please? The residual effects of my massage from last week really need to stay in place for a bit, given its cost. I'd rather not have my shoulders tense back up by stupid snow drivers.

On a better (and completely unrelated note), I got through a horde of mail last night-- all of my immediate need cards are done (including those who asked for cards). They're going out today. All of my "other need" cards are penpal letters, and I'll work on those throughout the week, intermingled with catching up on swaps and taming back the swapping corner. I only have a couple more gifts to get, and none have to be mailed, so I'm not stressing too much.

Tonight Erich and I plan to get our mobile phones replaced. Our plan is just fine for our needs so we'll just renew it, but our phones suck. I am training myself to use cell phones. I just need to remember to charge the damn thing.

Onward to work... more later.

10:15 a.m. - 20 December 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda