measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mortality

Like so many people during their commutes, I listen to the radio on the way home in the evening. I usually flip between WAAF (to get my hard rock buzz), WBZ (for news) and WEEI (sports radio-- though I listen specifically for the "whiner line" call in segment of the commute program). It depends on the day. Sometimes I flip between all of them a lot. Sometimes I stick somewhere.

Last night, I stuck as I heard the news.

David Brudnoy is dying.

*sigh*

For those of you not in the Boston area, David Brudnoy is a well-known personality on radio here in Beantown. He's been on air since the late 70's with a wonderfully intelligent, thought-provoking show. He had a wonderful speaking voice-- full of life and intelligence that could border on arrogance, but had a softness and warmness about it that didn't intimidate. He's a gay man, and he's been surviving full blown AIDS for over a decade (including some very close call scares).

Brudnoy was a professor in the College of Communication at Boston University, and was slated to be my original faculty advisor. But he grew very ill and had to go on leave a couple months before I was slated to meet with him for the first time. Jason had the pleasure of a class with him as an undergrad, and spoke so highly of him as a professor. I knew him more from his hours in the journalism department office when I worked there post-graduation as the department secretary.

So when I heard the news last night, I immediately called Jason.

We listened to his final broadcast last night-- an interview by one of his colleagues. Professor Brudnoy is now in the hospital, dying. The interview was heartwrenching-- his voice was so weak, yet his view on where his life has been, and where he is going was so accepting. He joked in the interview about frantically finishing his grading for the most recent term of papers to prevent students from getting an automatic inflated grade. A smartass to the end.

He's in my thoughts today, and while I'm sad that his life is coming to an end, I'm happy that he's found acceptance of his situation to approach it with such amazing courage.

I could only hope to reach such a point.

Farewell, Professor.


11:18 a.m. - 09 December 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda