measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sisterly weekend

FIRST--- I'm doing holiday cards next week. If you want me to send one to you, please quickly pop over here and add your info if you want one. My address book is a disaster. So even if I talk to you all the time on email, add yourself in. :)

I spent a good portion of my weekend up on campus to attend sorority schtuff. I feel like I was a complete slacker this weekend. But had a great time. :)

The majority of the Alpha Beta class went through 2nd degree on Saturday, followed by a long lunch over at Sunset Tap (formerly The 99, formerly Jumbalaya, formerly Caffe Lampara). Service was shitty, food was pretty good, but the company was fabulous. I got back home later than I expected and was a bit wiped out. I love being around people, but after a while large groups just exhaust me. So I spent most of the evening doing nothing special-- playing Sims 2, watching TV, playing with the cats, that sort of thing. It was nice having the apartment to myself, though.

Erich and Jason were off playing D&D at Frank's new home down in Providence. I was long in bed when they got back-- Erich gave a rough estimate of 5 a.m. (they DO realize they're no longer in college, right?)

Sunday was a lazy day for the most part. Erich was pretty zonked out all day. Jason dragged himself up and went over to a friend's place for the football games. I headed back up to campus around five to attend chapter meetings and such.

And on my way there, I nearly drove my car off Storrow Drive.

Anyone who lives in the general Boston area, I challenge you to attempt to keep your car straight if you're driving westbound on Storrow, too. Because when you reach the flats of Back Bay, there's a VERY unusual sight in the sky.

The Citgo sign is... working!

As in... every single tube of light is actually bright and working.

Anyone who has spent time in Boston in the last dozen years or so can appreciate that. No really-- both sides of the sign, even. There are no breaks (unlike in this photo from last summer.

It's really, really weird.

And the white is WHITE. The red is actually red-- it's not orange anymore. And the blue is a brilliant royal blue. It's a fucking beacon. And startled the shit out of me. Having spent many nights tromping through Kenmore, staring up at that sign with its not-so-random pattern of white and red color scrolling, seeing it in its correct spot but not familiar form was honestly a bit disconcerting. But considering that Kenmore Square itself just isn't Kenmore anymore (and has gone destressingly upscale), I guess they kinda did need to finally restore the Citgo Sign, eh?

It looks great-- of all of the changes in Kenmore, this is the one that I like. :)

Miracles of miracles, I found parking right next to where I needed to be. Yes, it was a Sunday night. But I didn't park on Bay State, and I found a spot on the street. I need to gloat for a moment.

CLA CAS is as fucking cold as I remember it. I swear there is no heat in that building. Ever. You'd think that with umpteen thousand students all paying about forty grand a year for college, they could make the heat work correctly in there. I realize I'm dreaming... but it's just a thought for the trustees and the B & G crew. It is December. Heat is a good thing. Really. Needless to say, I was very glad that I remembered to throw a long-sleeved shirt under my letter shirt. Otherwise I would have been in my coat the entire time.

But the meetings went well (from my perspective). I've now reached the status of Old Business. Yikes. Got lotsa dates and such to update on the site tonight... along with the spelling of Laura's name. (if there are typos guys? just email me with the correction... seriously... I'll fix 'em).

Holidailies starts tomorrow. I'm going to be portal-posting and using my Diary-X space for the main link, but will be posting everything as normal elsewhere.

Off to get timesheets in the system. I'll be on Trillian tonight for a good chunk of the evening if anyone's on any instant messengers... drop me a line if you're bored. :)

10:18 a.m. - 06 December 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda