measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Holidaze and all that Jazz

Hope everyone else had a nice Thanksgiving. Mine was nice and quiet-- Erich and I visited his dad up in New Hampshire for the day and had a quiet three-person dinner. With a 14 pound turkey. Heh. Needless to say, lotsa leftovers. I'm going to be getting creative with turkey salad this week. What I couldn't believe was how WARM it was on Thanksgiving. It was in the low 60's in New Hampshire. In late November. Really. WTF?

On Friday I got up bright and early with Erich and went into the city. I had a relaxing morning sitting at the Red Cross with an IV in my arm for platelet donation, getting a free movie pass, t-shirt, and got to watch Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind for the first time. It was surprisingly good. I'm not a Carrey fan at all, but found it a great movie. Funny and touching just where it should have been, with a very true (albeit painful) message behind it. It also was the first time I perfectly timed my pay-per-view movie there. Usually I pick a movie that's either too short or too long and grumble a bit at missing the end of something (or have nothing to watch... 'cause you can't move your arms while you're in the chair). If you want to know how long it takes to literally be in the chair for donation of platelets? Exactly the length of that movie. Very weird. But the donation went fine. My blood pressure was the highest I've ever seen it, however... so I'm going to keep an eye on that when I go again next month. If it's still high, I'll call my doctor to get checked out. I'm well aware, being in the obese category of body weight, that I need to be really careful about the high blood pressure thing. Also well aware that with no family medical history available to me, if I have concerns, I should get them checked.

After the donation, I met up with Erich since his office is only a short walk across Chinatown. We grabbed sushi at Ginza for lunch (yummy!) and I headed home, hoping to have a quiet afternoon at the apartment by myself to putter. But as I got off the highway in Randolph, Jason called-- and was only about five minutes behind me on Rt. 24. He'd driven back up from Staten Island to be home for Erich's game on Saturday. So no quiet time. But I was oddly tired (not related to the donation) and really didn't get anything done anyway. Played lots and lots of Sims 2. I have families with three generations now. I feel proud. Heh.

On Saturday, we headed to Tone's for Erich's D&D game. Our poor group got transported to the Barrens of Doom and Despair. But we managed to survive (yay!) and now owe the God of Vengeance some time as indentured servants. I wasn't in the mood to play on the way over, but by the evening I got into it a bit.

Yesterday was penpal haven for me-- getting tons of letters and cards done. I got a few swaps caught up and need to do some more this week so I don't have people on yahoogroups shooting me. They probably already are. *shrug* The weather was sucktastic all day yesterday, I have to say. I made kielbasa and sauerkraut (babci recipe... yummy!) over mashed potatoes for dinner. I rarely cook, so it's noteworthy. :)

Tonight's laundry night from hell-- we're loading up the Jeep and taking it all to the mat. Between the LAN party and busy weekends, plus sheets and towels, there's easily 12 loads here between Erich and I. Quite possibly more, if you factor in towel and king-sized sheet bulk. This is why I love our neighborhood Pakistani laundromat. Because they have five-load washers for six bucks. :) AND even with all of that laundry to do, we'll have it done in 2.5 hours. Gotta love it. :) After that, I'll probably be online, so anyone who wants to drop an IM, feel free. I'm going to be cleaning out my vat of email and getting some stuff sent off that I need to do.

Off to work, since I need to leave at two to take Colley for his checkup.

10:48 a.m. - 29 November 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda