measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Catching up... all of the issues are resolved... I think...

My better half is now 30. And for a birthday present, he enslaved me by paying for the Jeep repairs. He now owns my soul... (and my Jeep by default). Measi's getting a second job for the holidays, folks. Otherwise I'm in a world of hurt financially because my dear boyfriend is a fucking saint.

Jeep repairs ran $2,100 for a complete overhaul of the transmission (I chose the lower option to have it guaranteed for only 12,000 miles). This on top of the $700 from two weeks ago. On top of the $1,200 from January. All paid on Erich's credit cards. Erich essentially has paid over half the value of the car. Therefore, he currently owns my Jeep. And since I owe him that money, he now owns my soul. I could think of a worse person to be enslaved to, though. :)

He's jokingly offered to set a price for sex acts for me to whittle down debt. I'd be lying if I said I haven't thought about it for a moment.

(mew)

Regardless, I'm going to be doing a lot of Reiki attunements and hopefully raise a bit of money that way to pay back Erich. And I'll probably look into getting a holiday job part-time as well. *shrug*

At least the Jeep is running now. And everything's now new under the hood within the last 20,000 miles, save the engine itself. I hope it's now going to go for a while... or at least to next spring.

And Erich's dad's car (which I'd been driving while the Jeep was MIA) is also repaired, after the entire exhaust pipe FELL OFF the car last Monday as I drove over train tracks next to the office. Scared the living shit out of me as this big ol' boat of a car instantly turned into a VERY LOUD hot rod. That, thankfully, was a quick $100 fix-- the clamp holding the pipe up at the front of the car had simply rusted through with age (it's a 1992 Bonneville).

I'm done. If another car breaks, I'm not driving. End of story.

*****

Finally got my blood test results back from my July 2nd doctor's appointment. Everything is fine, except my cholesterol's a bit high. And I have mixed feelings on it....

I'm very happy everything's okay. Being tied down to daily medications is NOT what I want to be doing. But at the same time, I feel frustrated because I was hoping it was something simple like hypothyroid that was preventing me from losing weight. Nope-- thyroid's right on the mark. *sigh*

In any case, I'm glad that things are okay, and I'll be eating a lot more raw veggies for the cholestrol levels to avoid eating the saturated fats that fill me up. Salads for lunch at least 3 days a week, I think.

*****

To end on a better note...

We had an awesome time on Erich's birthday. Both of us took the day off. In the morning we drove up to the city and went to the Museum of Science to see the Lord of the Rings Exhibit. Boston has the only currently planned U.S. date. If you're in driving distance to Boston before it closes in October and are a fan of the movies (or special effects of any sort), you absolutely MUST go to this.

Lots of costumes, armor, weapons, and jewelry from the movie (including all of the rings of power and the One Ring). Short movie clips showing how they created different things for the movie, including the digital armies (where each individual virtual soldier was able to react on its own) and the camera perspectives. Initial pencil and watercolor scene sketches.

Great, great stuff. :)

It was a go-at-your-own-pace exhibit. It took us about an hour. I imagine we'll probably go again with our friends who also enjoyed the movies.

After the exhibit, we headed over to the No Name for lunch, but found ourselves not really ready to eat, so most of it came home with us. We kicked back and relaxed for the afternoon. We took Gus and Colley out on leashes for a while in the late afternoon. Colley seems to now be thoroughly freaked out about being outside now, as he kept meowing and moaning the whole time. (I'm not complaining about this-- serves him right for scaring the shit out of me). When Jason came home, we met up with Erich's dad and went out for dinner at Abington Ale House (where the birthday boy ate free of charge).

All in all, a good day. We'll celebrate with friends later this month with a trip to Foxwoods. :)

And now I probably should get to work, since they pay me and all...

10:40 a.m. - 12 August 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda