measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Moody weekend

Getting hit with the joy of being female was even less joyous than usual this past weekend. I spent a good portion of it in pain on the couch (or the bed, when I got shoved off the main TV for Sunday afternoon so the guys could play their millionth incarnation of the same Halo game). Not a fun weekend in almost every respect. And I was very pissy for a variety of reasons-- some completely irrational. Some because I'm getting fed-up with the "I'm the only one" housework martyr bullshit in our apartment at times. Some because I'm tired of having to literally sit on the remote if I want to watch something without interruption.

*sigh*

On a more positive front, I did manage - with Erich's help - to grab my supply of sorority stuff from storage, where it has been sitting for about the past three years. Quite dusty at this point, but still in good shape. I have to reglue a letter back onto the "Sister of the Year" paddle that somehow landed in my possession sometime around my senior year. I spent a good chunk of last evening typing in info for the alumnae of the chapter for classes older than mine. And it dawned on me that much of the info in this book is the only connection to the alumni at this point-- it saddens me that they're not all in there. For some reason, I recalled it being almost complete, but in reality, nothing's been lost from this book or added in for years. All of Mu class (two years before me), most of Nu, all but two people in my class (Xi), and the classes after mine are completely missing. Hopefully we can piece together some of the info, although I'm not sure how well that will happen. Heck, I can't even remember all of the little brothers I took-- there's about a half-dozen of them. *sigh*

Needless to say, my handiwork so far is here: www.tbs-etagamma.org. It's a bit blander than I'd like, but still organized and easy to find info on, which is really what the chapter needed at this point. It makes me feel somewhat useful as an alum.

We saw Harry Potter:POA at the 12:05 a.m. showing Thursday/Friday overnight. I enjoyed it. It's a much darker, bleaker film than the previous two... but then again, so's the book. I enjoyed it. It's not the magical, eye-opening whimsical awe I felt with the first two movies-- it's now a bit more intelligent, a bit more gripping... and more adult. I actually enjoyed it better than the previous two, although there were scenes that I felt were removed that really should not have been. Our showing of the movie was a bit jolting-- about 10 minutes before the end-- just as the climax of the movie is coming up (i.e. Buckbeak riding scene), the projector stuck-- which got a groan from the crowd. But because it was so late and no one was up in the booth, it continued to stick... and heat... and then the entire audience gasped as we watched Harry's face melt away as the filmstrip itself melted under the lighted heat. After a bit of prodding ("guys... you're faster... go tell someone"), Jason and Erich flew out of the theater to tell them about the problem. They then came back and grabbed me, and the three of us scooted across the theater complex to the 12:10 showing, marvelling at our amazing timing to plunk down in seats EXACTLY at the scene that had gotten stuck.

The people in our original showing did not see the end of the movie-- the management gave them all free movie passes. :)

We're debating going again this week-- the Mendon drive-in has two double features playing (Harry Potter/Scooby Doo 2 and Day After Tomorrow/Shrek 2)... we've seen all three of the movies that we'd like to see again, and have no interest in the fourth... but drive-ins just have a fun atmosphere for summer. :) And then Friday is Riddick night, so Erich can get his movie for the summer and be a very happy boy.

Off to get more work done... and hopefully my hormones will come under check before I get home.

1:21 p.m. - 07 June 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda