measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Relaxing

It's three days into my time off from work, and I'm already feeling a lot better. I need to do this more often! I'm unwinding after a day of errands and projects around the apartment with a rum and coke, some email, and the sounds and sights of a thunderstorm outside. Summer's here, I think. :) And I have to say, I've missed the sound of thunder rumbling across the sky. We're getting some really good rumbles tonight, but the winds are oddly still for such a storm that's really not too far off, based on the lightning/thunder ratio.

Friday night through Saturday night, we went to an impromptu LAN party over at the Reifenbergs' house. About ten of us at any given time during the weekend. We played a lot of Halo, Unreal Tournament 2K4, and some Warcraft III. It was one of the more... reasonable hour... LAN's I've been to. We all left by around 3 a.m., started back up again around 1 p.m, and were all heading home by about midnight or so on Saturday. Since it was thrown together last-minute, people had to work on Sunday morning and such. Civil hours and LAN parties are such alien things!

Nevertheless, I spent most of Sunday zonked out of my mind. I think I was fully awake for about five hours of the day. Erich and Jason were up in the city for a D&D game with Wildcard, and I had hoped to take the opportunity to get a lot of stuff done around the apartment... some penpalling, some work on the ΤΒΣ pages.. stuff like that. I barely got any of the penpalling stuff done. ΤΒΣ stuff will have to wait, I guess. I won't work on it during the rest of the week, but perhaps next weekend since all of our friends will be out of town to various Memorial Day spots.

Tomorrow morning we head to Florida for five days of absolutely nothing. I can't wait. We have an early afternoon flight out of Providence, RI, which will put us in Tampa sometime just before rush hour. It's about an hour drive to Sarasota... and according to my mom, there are steaks currently sitting in marinade in the fridge for us. :) She just left the house today, so we should be fully stocked for the rest of the week.

The only two things we have remotely planned are a visit to Erich's grandma in one of the hospice care centers south of Sarasota, and possibly getting together with one of my penpals, Lori, and her husband for a bite to eat. Otherwise it's a week to catch up on some reading, some writing, and regaining some of the sanity that I need to survive-- while allowing my natural insanity to flourish, of course.

Oh, and there will probably be a good amount of sex. Woo hoo. :) And probably skinny dipping in the pool, since my mom specifically told us to (which I still see as rather disturbing). After all, what would be an anniversary weekend without some... frolicking. :)

And as an aside-- for those people who have been reading since the beginning, can you believe Erich and I have been together for three years come next Monday? It seems like just yesterday...

Anyway... it's getting late and I will be getting up early to pack since I'm a slacker this evening. I'll probably check in mid-week with a brief entry if I can figure out how to make the internet work from the house...

If not, see you late Saturday night/early Sunday...

~ Mel.

5:31 p.m. - 23 May 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda