measi's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Whoops

So I come to work this morning to find a good chunk of the suspended ceiling in crumbles on the floor, and a decent, steady drip of water falling directly onto the multi-thousand dollar color printers that do photoquality laser 11x17's in CMYK.

Whoops.

And we have books going to B-printing deadlines, as well as two prototype reviews this week from design, which requires a veritable shitload of 11x17 color printing.

Isn't that lovely? Gah...

Thankfully it's one of those issues that I honestly can duck and cover away... tech and Xerox are handling it. It's leaving me alone to number crunch. Silence is good.

******

I've been to the gym the past two nights-- my quads are killing me. I pulled them doing something over the weekend, and now doing anything that depends on them is more than a bit painful. I'm going to let myself rest tonight, and then head back tomorrow.

I have concluded that I am not physically ready yet for the elliptical trainers. After four minutes, I'm begging to get off. The motion itself feels good, but it's just too intense for me right now... perhaps once I've gotten into a better routine and lose another 15-20 or so. But for now, I'll be sticking to the treadmill and keep programming it for either cardio or "hill."

But things are going well at the gym... when I get my ass over there. Other than in my shoulder press, I've managed to increase the weight class on all of my other strength training exercises. The shoulder press, however, kills me. I struggle to lift 30 pounds. By the fifth of ten reps, I'm really fighting to get that bar up. One of these days, maybe I'll get some upper body strength, eh? Meanwhile, I'm doing hip abductions at 155 pounds without blinking an eye. I'll assume it's a symptom of thunder thighs.

Kinda like that female villian from James Bond... Onatop was her name, I think? Watch out men... I'll pop off your head with the strength of my inner thighs...

*****

In a part-exhaustion, part-slacker day yesterday, I managed to get all of my deck planting done. It looks quite pretty. I didn't get photos before it got too dark yesterday, but perhaps I'll take some tonight. This year's color theme seems to be (unintentionally) shades of purple. Lots of different purples with a bit of white, salmon, and red mixed in. I'm trying a slightly larger variety of plants... heliotrope (which smells fantastic), impatiens, double impatiens (which look like primroses to me), ivy geraniums (set to trellis along the bannister), Martha Washingtons, some regular geraniums, and a beautiful, full cascading fuscia. Unlike last year, I tried to concentrate on some height variations this year-- I completely ignored it last year, and put the wrong plants in the wrong height pots, leading to EVERYTHING being the same height. I think I did a better job this year. But we'll see mid-summer when everything has grown out and filled the planters.

Regardless, it will be pretty to look out at during the summer months. Definitely a more exciting view than the rooftop of the apartment building across the street.

******

Oh, before I forget... Photos of Maine. Not a lot of them... we didn't do much sightseeing. But still a few.

For those who were asking, we were in the Rockland/St. George/Camden area.

******

Oh... and has anyone been by their local Baskin Robbins? They have Shrek ice cream. It's a combination of grape sherbert, green apple sherbert, with pop rocks mixed in it.

How deadly is that?

And now I'll go back to number crunching.

~ Mel.

1:42 p.m. - 19 May 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lenaleigh
trancejen
moxiemoron
pieceofmind1
bolashley
glitterfaery
dlrealworld
neko-carre
sls
vramin
laura-jane
nympholex
finnegan
bettyalready
piotr
cheesyp
azimel
mai-liis
chatted-up
vanillan
tou-mou
souramethyst
princesscris
tornflames
siilucidly
krimsonlake
wordsofmine
persacanzona
sistercookie
jen69
dramoth
opheliatl
silverbiker
invernal
swordsmaiden
ergoatlas
journ-proj
cielamara
terter
anonadada72
eshanaminda